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The proposed law is anticipated to increase state expenditures by $1.4 M in FY 25, $1.3 M in FY 26, $2.2 M in FY 27, $3.1 M in FY 28,
$5.1 M in FY 29, and 12 positions in the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC). These costs can be attributed to the increased wages of
persons employed by the State and the cost of LWC enforcing the minimum wage throughout the state, as specified in proposed law.

Total Estimated Impact (Wage Increase Impact + LWC Enforcement)
The following table summarizes the effect of the wage increase impact as reported by the Civil Service Department and the costs borne by
the LWC per the enforcement requirement of the bill. Wage increases at each minimum wage tier will cumulatively increase state
expenditures.

Minimum Wage                  FY 25                     FY 26                      FY 27                        FY 28                     FY 29
        $10 $      188,145  $      376,290             $       376,290 $         376,290           $       376,290
        $12                          -                   -  $        864,317      $      1,728,633 $    1,728,633
        $14                      -____                   -                     -                     -        $    1,926,008
Wage Impact $      188,145 $      376,290               $     1,240,607 $     2,104,923 $    4,030,931
LWC Enforcement  $   1,218,724     $      969,289           $        988,224            $     1,007,539 $    1,027,240
 Total Cost             $  1,406,869              $  1,345,579 $    2,228,831            $    3,112,462       $  5,058,171

The minimum wage tiers bring wages to $10/hr, $12/hr, and $14/hr on January 1st in each respective fiscal year and assume When
Actually Employeds (WAEs) work 1,245 hours per year, which is the maximum for WAEs. Student employees of the state and universities
are included in the estimates. The following table shows the classification of state employees who are impacted at each minimum wage
tier.

Affected State Employees FY 25 FY 26 FY 27 FY 28 FY 29
Classified Employees      0      0   137   137   511
Unclassified Employees   256  256   540   540   923
WAEs     8    8   275   275   593
Total  264  264   952   952             2027                CONTINUED ON PAGE 2

Proposed law establishes a state minimum wage and sets it at $10 per hour beginning on January 1, 2025, $12 per hour
beginning on January 1, 2027 and $14 per hour beginning on January 1, 2029. If the federal minimum wage is raised above
the state minimum wage, the state minimum wage shall be raised to that level. The bill does not apply to student employees
of private employers, tipped employees, and agriculture employees. Proposed law provides that an employee may file a civil
lawsuit in the proper venue for damages against an employer for a violation. An employer in violation is liable for the
difference in wages and the statutory minimum wage plus reasonable attorney fees and court costs if the lawsuit is filed
within one year from the date that an employee becomes aware that the employer is in violation. Proposed law provides that
Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) shall enforce the state minimum wage and is authorized and directed to promulgate
rules and regulations.
 Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental revenues as a result of this measure.
REVENUE EXPLANATION

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

Provides relative to the state minimum wage
EMPLOYMENT/WAGES-MINIMUM

EXPENDITURES

State Gen. Fd.

Agy. Self-Gen.

Ded./Other

Federal Funds

Local Funds

Annual Total

REVENUES

State Gen. Fd.

Agy. Self-Gen.

Ded./Other

Federal Funds

Local Funds

Annual Total

2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29 5 -YEAR TOTAL

INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29 5 -YEAR TOTAL

OR INCREASE GF EX See Note Page 1 of 2

Deborah Vivien
Chief Economist

Dual Referral RulesSenate House

13.5.1 >= $100,000 Annual Fiscal Cost {S & H} 6.8(F)(1) >= $100,000 SGF Fiscal Cost {H & S}

13.5.2 >= $500,000 Annual Tax or Fee
                Change {S & H}

6.8(G) >= $500,000 Tax or Fee Increase
                or a Net Fee Decrease {S}

x x



Fiscal Note
LEGISLATIVE FISCAL OFFICE

Date:
Dept./Agy.:

Fiscal Note On: HB 888431 HLS 24RS

BOYDAuthor:

Subject:

Louisiana Workforce Commission
State Minimum Wage

March 11, 2024 3:32 PM

ORIGINALBill Text Version:
Opp. Chamb. Action:

Proposed Amd.:

Sub. Bill For.:

Analyst: Noah O’Dell

Wage Increase Impact as reported by Civil Service Department
Salaries and wages of classified employees and WAE employees are paid with all means of financing (MOF). All MOF may be
affected by the total cost increase resulting from this proposed law. This minimum wage analysis does not include costs
associated with related benefits because these rates vary depending on the employee’s retirement plan. Although not
included in the analysis, related benefits are anticipated to increase by an indeterminable amount under this measure.
Salary enhancements beyond minimum wage implementation are excluded from the wage impact analysis.

Louisiana Workforce Commission Enforcement Costs
Presently, the State is under the federal minimum wage enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor (US DOL), Wage and
Hour Division through the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As such, the U.S. Wage and Hour Division handle the majority
of wage and hour complaints. According to the LA Workforce Commission (LWC), if a state minimum wage law is enacted,
they have a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the US DOL to investigate and enforce wage and hour complaints.

According to LWC, if the department is tasked to provide the same or similar enforcement services as US DOL Wage and
Hour Division, a new division within LWC will have to be created and staffed. LWC estimates the need to hire 10
investigators ($74,171 salary and related benefits each), an attorney ($134,608 salary and related benefits), and an
administrative assistant ($51,905 salary and related benefits) to investigate and enforce wage complaints. One-time
implementation costs are anticipated for 12 laptops ($1,500 each), 10 vehicles ($25,000 each), travel ($50/day for 200
days), and employee education material ($12,500). The projected cost of the additional staff, office supplies, travel, and
equipment is $1,218,724 in FY 25. Travel expenses and the cost of employee education materials are continued in
subsequent fiscal years, along with 2% salary growth. LWC currently enforces child labor laws in a similar manner and has
based these cost estimates of enforcement on that division within the department.

Local Wage Impact Costs
The proposed law will increase local governmental expenditures by an indeterminable amount as a result of the newly
created state minimum wage that is higher than the current federal minimum wage. To the extent any employees at the
local level are paid below the new minimum wage, local governmental expenditures will increase by an amount that is equal
to the difference between the employee’s current wage and the minimum wage in the proposed law.

Judicial and Local Courts
To the extent the proposed law increases the number of civil cases in district courts, an indeterminable increase in costs
associated with district attorney prosecutions, judicial workload, time, and attendance (presence of judges, clerks, bailiffs,
counsel, etc.) may result. It is speculative as to how many, if any, additional civil cases will occur as a result of this
measure.

Public Assistance Programs
To the extent the minimum wage increase results in individuals’ earnings exceeding the means-tested threshold for TANF
cash assistance programs (FITAP and KCSP) and SNAP, there may be an indeterminable decrease in public assistance
enrollment and expenditures. The number of individuals that would be impacted by the increase is unknown.

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) administers SNAP. Approximately half of the cost of administering
SNAP is funded with SGF. The rest of the administrative costs are funded through a federal match provided by Food and
Nutrition Services (FNS). The possible decrease in SNAP enrollment and expenditures could generate a decrease in the costs
associated with administering the program. DCFS reports the magnitude of this decrease is unknown, but is unlikely to be
significant.
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