The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Alana M. Perrin

DIGEST 2024 Regular Session

Seabaugh

Present law provides that the MPERS board of trustees is composed of 15 members as follows:

- (1) Three active contributing members of the system with 10 or more years of service credit.
- (2) Four active contributing chiefs of police with four or more years of service credit.
- (3) Two regular retirees of the system.

SB 412 Original

- (4) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Retirement or his designee.
- (5) The commissioner of administration or his designee.
- (6) The state treasurer or his designee.
- (7) A member of the House Committee on Retirement appointed by the speaker.
- (8) Two mayors appointed by the La. Municipal Assoc. (LMA).

<u>Proposed law</u> increases membership to 19 members by adding four additional mayors appointed by the LMA.

<u>Present law provides legal procedures by which MPERS collects delinquent payments.</u> Provides for the treasurer to withhold certain funds otherwise owed to a municipality in order to satisfy the municipality's delinquent payments.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and provides that any action instituted by the retirement system to recover delinquent payments or damages associated with delinquent payments is subject to a liberative prescription of three years and is subject to the La. Governmental Claims Act.

Effective June 30, 2024.

(Amends R.S. 11:2225(A)(2)(a) and 2227(D)(2))