The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Dawn Romero Watson.

DIGEST

SB 425 Original

2024 Regular Session

Pressly

<u>Present law</u> provides that the members of the Shreveport Downtown Development Authority is composed of two nonvoting members: the mayor of the city of Shreveport and the executive director of the Shreveport Downtown Development Authority and seven voting members who shall be appointed by the mayor of the city of Shreveport, subject to confirmation by the city council as follows:

- (1) One member from a list of three nominees submitted to the mayor by Downtown Shreveport Unlimited.
- (2) One member from a list of three nominees submitted to the mayor by the Shreveport Bossier African American Chamber of Commerce or its successor.
- One member from a list of three nominees submitted to the mayor by the Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce.
- (4) One member from a list of three nominees submitted to the mayor by the Downtown Shreveport Development Corporation.
- (5) One member from a list of three nominees submitted to the mayor by the state senators representing Senate District 37 and Senate District 39 and by the state representative representing District 4.
- (6) Two members from a list of seven nominees submitted to the mayor by the Shreveport city council members.

<u>Present law</u> provides that members serve for a three-year term.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> with the exception that the senator representing Senate District 38 participate in submitting the list of nominees to the mayor instead of the senator representing Senate District 37. Provides for transition.

Effective August 1, 2024.

(Amends R.S. 33:2740.38(C)(1)(e))