The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by James Benton.

DIGEST

SB 143 Original

2025 Regular Session

Hensgens

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 46:1053(K)(1)) provides that in the parish of Vermilion, Hospital Service District No. 1 shall be governed by a commission composed of eight members. Each chief of the medical staff at the Abrom Kaplan Memorial Hospital shall be a member of the commission during his term in office. The other additional members provided for by this Paragraph shall be appointed for initial terms of six years each by the police jury of the parish of Vermilion and thereafter shall serve six-year terms.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> but reduces the term of office for commissioners of Vermilion Hospital Service District No. 1 from six-year terms to four-year terms.

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 46:1053(L)(1)) provides that the Vermilion Parish Hospital Service District No. 2 shall be governed by a board of commissioners composed of seven members. One member shall be appointed by the parish governing authority from among the physicians who are residents of the district. If no physician is willing to serve, then the parish governing authority may appoint any person who is otherwise eligible to fill the office. Members appointed from among the physicians of the district and members appointed in place of such member shall serve two-year terms. All other members shall serve six-year terms.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> but reduces the term of office for commissioners of Vermilion Hospital Service District No. 2 <u>from</u> six-year terms to four-year terms. This change in the term limit shall not be applicable to members appointed from among the physicians of the district and members appointed in place of such member shall serve two-year terms.

Effective August 1, 2025.

(Amends R.S. 46:1053(K)(1) and (L)(1))