## SLS 25RS-85

## ORIGINAL

2025 Regular Session

SENATE BILL NO. 191

BY SENATOR EDMONDS

LOCAL OFFICIALS. Provides for the composition of the board of commissioners of the St. George Fire Protection District. (8/1/25)

1	AN ACT
2	To enact R.S. 40:1496(J), relative to the St. George Fire Protection District; to provide
3	relative to the composition of the board of commissioners; to provide relative to
4	appointments by the St. George City Council; to provide relative to the term of office
5	of commissioners; and to provide for related matters.
6	Notice of intention to introduce this Act has been published.
7	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
8	Section 1. R.S. 40:1496(J) is hereby enacted to read as follows:
9	§1496. Appointment of members of board; term; vacancies
10	* * *
11	J. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the board of
12	commissioners of the St. George Fire Protection District shall consist of five
13	members. The St. George City Council shall appoint the five members of the
14	<u>board of commissioners. Initial terms of three of the commissioners shall be one</u>
15	year and the initial terms of two commissioners shall be two years as
16	determined by lot. All subsequent terms of commissioners shall be two years.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Senate Legislative Services. The keyword, summary, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

SB 191 Original

## DIGEST 2025 Regular Session

Edmonds

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 40:1496) provides for the composition of the board of commissioners for fire protection districts.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and provides that the board of commissioners of the St. George Fire Protection District shall consist of five members. The city of St. George City Council shall appoint the five members.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that initial terms of three of the commissioners shall be one year and the initial terms of two commissioners shall be two years as determined by lot. All subsequent terms of commissioners shall be two years.

Effective August 1, 2025.

(Adds R.S. 40:1496(J))