2025 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 55

BY REPRESENTATIVE ROMERO

A RESOLUTION

To commend Dr. Steve Harrison upon his induction into the 2025 Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction was established to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to agriculture or agriculture-related industries across the state of Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the Hall of Distinction is a joint initiative of the LSU AgCenter, Louisiana Radio Network, Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, and Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Steve Harrison, a professor in LSU's School of Plant, Environmental, and Soil Sciences, was selected as one of three esteemed individuals to be inducted into the 2025 Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction in recognition of his enduring commitment to the advancement of agriculture; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison began his distinguished career with the LSU AgCenter in 1984 after earning his doctorate from the University of Illinois, dedicating his work to small grains plant breeding, particularly in wheat and oats; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison has played a pivotal role in developing grain varieties suited to Louisiana and the southeastern United States, thereby enhancing regional agricultural productivity and sustainability; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison was instrumental in founding the SunGrains collaborative breeding program, which connects educational institutions across the Southeast, streamlining small grains variety development and encouraging the exchange of valuable genetic material; and WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison serves as coordinator of the USDA's International Oat Nursery, facilitating the global exchange of oat genetics among over twenty countries and significantly advancing international oat breeding programs.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Dr. Steve Harrison for his remarkable achievements and his induction into the 2025 Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction and does hereby acknowledge his profound and lasting impact on agriculture in Louisiana and beyond.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES