HLS 25RS-1788 ORIGINAL

2025 Regular Session

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91

BY REPRESENTATIVE BAYHAM

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the members and board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards Association

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend the members of Louisiana School Boards Association and its 2025 board of
3	directors.
4	WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association (LSBA) represents sixty-eight
5	locally elected public school boards in the state of Louisiana and has a membership
6	comprised of six hundred thirty elected school board members; and
7	WHEREAS, the members of the LSBA work daily to improve the education of all
8	students enrolled in their respective school systems; and
9	WHEREAS, the LSBA is governed by a board of directors, whose members are
10	elected by their peers from among the membership of the association; and
11	WHEREAS, the members of the 2025 board of directors of the LSBA are President
12	Katherine Lemoine, from St. Bernard Parish; President-elect Taft Kleinpeter, from
13	Ascension Parish; Vice President Debra Schum, from St. John the Baptist Parish; Immediate
14	Past President Vernon Travis, from Vernon Parish; District One directors: Sue Beier, from
15	St. James Parish, and Becky Weber, from St. Charles Parish; District Two directors: Linda
16	Chaney, from St. Helena Parish, and John DeFrances, from Ascension Parish; District Three
17	directors: James Seaman, from Vernon Parish, and Hannah Smith-Mason, from Lafayette
18	Parish; District Four directors: Veronica Tappin, from Morehouse Parish, and Aimee
19	Dupuy, from Avoyelles Parish; District Five directors: Reba Phelps, from Natchitoches
20	Parish, and Melinda Hardy, from Red River Parish; presidential appointees: Brandon

HLS 25RS-1788

ORIGINAL
HR NO. 91

1 Harrell, from St. Tammany Parish, Dr. LaVerne Cook, from the City of Bogalusa Schools,

2 and Brad Norris, from Iberia Parish; and LSBA Executive Director, Dr. Janet Pope; and

WHEREAS, the members of the LSBA and its board of directors not only serve their

4 local communities and schools, but serve all of Louisiana's public schools systems and

students by volunteering their time to promote, support, and advocate on behalf of all of

6 Louisiana's public school students.

7 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the

8 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and recognize the members of the Louisiana

School Boards Association and its 2025 board of directors and does hereby extend enduring

appreciation to the educators who work tirelessly to continuously improve the state's

11 education systems.

5

9

10

## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 91 Original

2025 Regular Session

Bayham

Commends the members of La. School Boards Assoc. and its 2025 board of directors.