HLS 25RS-1191 ORIGINAL

2025 Regular Session

1

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 36

BY REPRESENTATIVE PHELPS AND SENATORS JENKINS AND PRESSLY

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society for its outstanding academic achievements

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	To commend the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society
3	for its outstanding academic achievements.
4	WHEREAS, Westwood Elementary School in Shreveport, Louisiana, is led by
5	Principal Lynn Gardner, and the school's chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society
6	consists of students in fourth and fifth grades; and
7	WHEREAS, the fourth grade members of the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the
8	National Elementary Honor Society are Na'Kyiah Chambers, Aaliyah Collins, Quin'Nya
9	Davis, Alivia Diarse, Ariel Ferrell, Abigail Hernandez, Ayden Jones, Ryan Palm, Aiden
0	Smith, Meghan Turner, Aubrey Williams, and Haleigh Winslow; and
1	WHEREAS, the fifth grade members of the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the
12	National Elementary Honor Society are Jacob Dent, Tianna Lee, Za'Riyah Smith, Cameron
13	Thomas, and Analyn Williams; and
4	WHEREAS, the 2024 inaugural fifth grade members are Royal Bates, Xavier
15	Bellamy, Ta'Naeja Hill, Loria Holmes, Ty'rece Johnson, Teairra Lester, Kayla Smart, Jaiden
16	Sterling, Nevaeh Taylor, Garrett Watson, Zyravion Watson, Austin Wilson, and Brooklyn
17	Woods; and
18	WHEREAS, the board members for the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the
19	National Elementary Honor Society are Principal Lynn Gardner, Dr. Rachel Moore, school
20	counselor Heather Walls, instructional coordinator Robert Franklin, Miranda Brokenberry,

HLS 25RS-1191 ORIGINAL HCR NO. 36

- 1 Anetha Clinton, Benjetta Douglas, Ursula Greening, Brittani Mandigo, Amy Rogers, Tiffany
- 2 Turner, Monica White, and Vader Winston; and
- 3 WHEREAS, the National Elementary Honor Society recognizes academic
- 4 achievement, and the Westwood Elementary School teachers, staff, and National Elementary
- 5 Honor Society chapter members are most deserving of the highest recognition for their
- 6 incredible work.
- 7 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby
- 8 commend the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society for
- 9 its outstanding academic achievements and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that these
- 10 inspiring young students continue their excellent work and always strive for academic
- 11 greatness.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 36 Original

2025 Regular Session

Phelps

Commends the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society for its outstanding academic achievements.