2025 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 36

BY REPRESENTATIVE PHELPS AND SENATORS JENKINS AND PRESSLY

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society for its outstanding academic achievements.

WHEREAS, Westwood Elementary School in Shreveport, Louisiana, is led by Principal Lynn Gardner, and the school's chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society consists of students in fourth and fifth grades; and

WHEREAS, the fourth grade members of the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society are Na'Kyiah Chambers, Aaliyah Collins, Quin'Nya Davis, Alivia Diarse, Ariel Ferrell, Abigail Hernandez, Ayden Jones, Ryan Palm, Aiden Smith, Meghan Turner, Aubrey Williams, and Haleigh Winslow; and

WHEREAS, the fifth grade members of the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society are Jacob Dent, Tianna Lee, Za'Riyah Smith, Cameron Thomas, and Analyn Williams; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 inaugural fifth grade members are Royal Bates, Xavier Bellamy, Ta'Naeja Hill, Loria Holmes, Ty'rece Johnson, Teairra Lester, Kayla Smart, Jaiden Sterling, Nevaeh Taylor, Garrett Watson, Zyravion Watson, Austin Wilson, and Brooklyn Woods; and

WHEREAS, the board members for the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society are Principal Lynn Gardner, Dr. Rachel Moore, school counselor Heather Walls, instructional coordinator Robert Franklin, Miranda Brokenberry, Anetha Clinton, Benjetta Douglas, Ursula Greening, Brittani Mandigo, Amy Rogers, Tiffany Turner, Monica White, and Vader Winston; and

HCR NO. 36 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the National Elementary Honor Society recognizes academic achievement, and the Westwood Elementary School teachers, staff, and National Elementary Honor Society chapter members are most deserving of the highest recognition for their incredible work.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Westwood Elementary Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society for its outstanding academic achievements and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that these inspiring young students continue their excellent work and always strive for academic greatness.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE