The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Senate Legislative Services. The keyword, summary, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

DIGEST 2025 Regular Session

McMath

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 33:130.401) provides that the St. Tammany Parish Development District is declared to be a body politic and political subdivision of the state of Louisiana.

<u>Proposed law</u> (R.S. 33:130.402) retains <u>present law</u> but further provides that the district is created solely for the purposes of the state's annual appropriations act, a local governing authority.

<u>Proposed law provides that the district may use "St. Tammany Economic Development Corporation"</u> or a similar trade name.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the district shall be governed by a board of commissioners consisting of 11 members selected as provided for in this Section. All members shall be qualified voters and taxpayers within the limits of the district during their term of office. On and after January 1, 2018, members of the board of commissioners shall be nominated by the board of commissioners and submitted to the council of St. Tammany Parish for approval. Commissioners shall serve three-year terms of office, except in the case of any shorter initial terms. Initial terms shall be staggered for the periods indicated as follows:

(1) Four members shall serve three-year initial terms.

SB 239 Engrossed

- (2) Four members shall serve two-year initial terms.
- (3) Three members shall serve one-year initial terms.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> but provides that commissioners shall serve staggered three-year terms of office with three or four members term expiring in any year. Members shall serve until the replacement is approved and sworn.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the nominating committee of the board of commissioners shall consist of the board president and vice president, the district executive director, the president of St. Tammany Parish or his designee, and a member of a regional board or commission selected by the president of St. Tammany Parish. The nominating committee shall submit its slate of nominees to the board of commissioners for approval. Once a slate of nominees is approved by the board, it shall be forwarded to the council of St. Tammany Parish.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> but changes certain nominating committee designations. Provides that the nominating committee shall consist of the board chair, vice chair, and treasurer, the district president and chief executive officer, the president of St. Tammany Parish or his designee, a member of a regional board or commission selected by the president–and the St. Tammany Parish Council chairman or his designee.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the initial slate of nominees shall be nominated by the members of the nominating committee and board of commissioners on or before December 31, 2017. For continuity, both the initial nominations and initial approved nominees shall include at least two members of the board of commissioners as of December 31, 2017.

Proposed law deletes present law.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the board of commissioners shall elect from among its own members a president chair, a vice president chair, a secretary, and a treasurer, whose duties shall be those usual to such offices. At the option of the board of commissioners, the offices of secretary and treasurer may be held by one person.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> but changes the identification of certain officers as follows:

- (1) The position of president shall be identified as chair.
- (2) The position of vice president shall be identified as vice chair.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the board of commissioners shall meet in regular session every month and shall also meet in special session as often as the president of the board convenes them or on the written request of four members. Six members of the board of commissioners shall constitute a quorum.

<u>Proposed law</u> changes <u>present law</u> so that the board of commissioners shall attempt to meet in regular session every month, and shall meet not less than nine times per calendar year whether in regular or special session as called by the chair or on the written request of four members. Six members of the board of commissioners shall constitute a quorum.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the board of commissioners shall prescribe rules to govern its meetings. The board of commissioners may contract with or employ attorneys, clerks, engineers, deputy commissioners, an executive director, and other agents and employees and shall fix their compensation and terms of employment.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> but changes one of the parties that the board can contract with <u>from</u> an executive director <u>to</u> a president and CEO.

<u>Present law</u> provides that, notwithstanding the provisions of <u>present law</u>, a member of the board of commissioners who is appointed or who serves pursuant to <u>present law</u> who is an officer, director, trustee, or employee of the St. Tammany Economic Development Foundation may serve on the board of commissioners and may participate and vote on matters involving the district and the foundation as authorized by <u>present law</u>.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> but changes the appropriate entity of reference for the officer, director, trustee, or employee <u>from</u> the St. Tammany Economic Development Foundation <u>to</u> a nonprofit corporation focused on parish or regional economic development of which the district may be a member or contributor.

Effective August 1, 2025.

(Amends R.S. 33:130.401(A), 130.402(A)(1) and (2)(a) and (b), (E), (F), (G) and (H); repeals R.S. 33:130.402(A)(2)(c) and (d))

Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Local and Municipal Affairs to the original bill

1. Changes certain nominating committee designations of the board of commissioners of the St. Tammany Parish Development District.