## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 319 Engrossed

2025 Regular Session

Orgeron

**Abstract:** Relative to the Atchafalaya Trace Commission and Atchafalaya Trace Heritage Area, changes the name of the area, includes Lafourche Parish within the area, and increases the membership of the commission.

<u>Present law</u> establishes the Atchafalaya Trace Commission ("commission") as an agency of state government within the Dept. of Culture, Recreation and Tourism. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> establishes the Atchafalaya Trace Heritage Area as consisting of the territory in the following parishes as generally depicted on the map entitled the Atchafalaya Trace Heritage Corridor Concept Plan copyrighted in 1996 by the Center for Landscape Interpretation: St. Mary, Iberia, St. Martin, St. Landry, Avoyelles, Pointe Coupee, Iberville, Assumption, Terrebonne, Lafayette, West Baton Rouge, Concordia, and East Baton Rouge. Additionally provides that the trace area includes all of the territory in Ascension Parish.

<u>Proposed law</u> changes the name of the area from "Atchafalaya Trace Heritage Area" to "Atchafalaya National Heritage Area" and makes conforming changes in <u>present law</u>. Changes provisions of <u>present law</u> that refer to the "trace area" to instead refer to the "heritage area".

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the reference in <u>present law</u> to the area being generally depicted on the map entitled the Atchafalaya Trace Heritage Corridor Concept Plan copyrighted in 1996 by the Center for Landscape Interpretation. Additionally, adds Lafourche parish to the parishes included in the heritage area.

Proposed law otherwise retains present law.

<u>Present law</u> provides that no other parish may be added to the heritage area until such time as criteria for inclusion into the area have been identified and established by the commission. <u>Proposed law</u> repeals <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the commission is comprised of 14 members, one appointed by the governing authority of each parish identified in <u>present law</u> as having territory within the heritage area. Provides that the secretary of the U.S. Dept. of the Interior may appoint a representative of the National Park Service to serve as a nonvoting member of the commission under certain circumstances. Provides for terms of commissioners and officers and meetings of the commission.

Proposed law increases the membership of the commission from 14 members to 15 members.

Otherwise retains present law.

(Amends R.S. 25:1221(B)(8), 1222(A) and (B)(4), (9), and (14), 1223(A)(1), 1224(A)(10), (B)(1)(a), (c), and (f), (2)(intro. para.), (a), (b), and (c), and (3)(intro. para.), and (a)-(f))