HB 520 2025 Regular Session

Illg

TAX/SALES-USE-EXEMPT: Establishes a state and local sales and use tax exemption for certain antique motor vehicles and increases the fee for issuance of special license plates for those vehicles

DIGEST

<u>Proposed law</u> establishes an exemption from state and local sales and use taxes on non-commercial motor vehicles manufactured at least 35 years ago and valued in excess of \$10,000. Defines such vehicles as "antique motor vehicles" for purposes of <u>proposed law</u> relative to the sales and use tax exemption. Further provides that for purposes of <u>proposed law</u> "used for commercial purposes" shall not include use within La. in the production of a motion picture.

<u>Present law</u> establishes a one-time \$25 fee for issuance of a special license plate for certain antique motor vehicles and motorcycles. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> for antique motor vehicles valued at less than \$10,000, but increases the license plate fee <u>from</u> \$25 to \$1,000 for antique vehicles valued at \$10,000 or more and eligible for the sales and use tax exemption provided in proposed law.

<u>Proposed law</u> applies to sales registration, or transfer of antique motor vehicles occurring on and after July 1, 2025.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections, office of motor vehicles, to establish a special prestige license plate for use on passenger car, pickup trucks, recreational vehicles, motorcycles, and vans known as the "Louisiana Innovation" license plate.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the secretary to work in conjunction with Louisiana Economic Development (LED) to select the color and design of the plate.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the department to collect an annual fee of \$50 in addition to the standard motor vehicle license tax imposed in <u>present law</u> and a handling fee of \$3.50 for each plate to be retained by the department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the department to collect the royalty fee and deposit in the Louisiana Economic Development Innovation Fund.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the secretary to promulgate rules and regulations to implement the provisions of <u>proposed law</u>.

Effective July 1, 2025.

(Amends R.S. 47:337.9(D)(36) and 463.8(B)(1); Adds R.S. 47:305.21 and 463.243)

Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

The Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Ways and Means</u> to the original bill:

- 1. Increase the number of years a noncommercial motor vehicle is required to be manufactured for purposes of qualifying for the exemption established in proposed law from 25 years to 35 years.
- 2. Exclude a motor vehicle used in La. in the production of a motion picture from the limitation in <u>proposed law</u> that the vehicle not be used for commercial purposes.

Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Revenue and Fiscal Affairs to the engrossed bill

- 1. Require that the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections, office of motor vehicles, establish a special prestige license plate known as the "Louisiana Innovation" license plate.
- 2. Specify that the plate is restricted to use on passenger car, pickup trucks, recreational vehicles, motorcycles, and vans.
- 3. Require the secretary to work in conjunction with LED to select the color and design of the plate.
- 4. Authorize the department to collect an annual fee of \$50 in addition to the standard motor vehicle license tax and a handling fee of \$3.50 for each plate to offset a portion of administrative costs.
- 5. Require the department to deposit the royalty fee in the Innovation Fund.
- 6. Require the secretary to promulgate rules and regulations.
- 7. Make technical corrections.