HLS 25RS-3212 ORIGINAL

2025 Regular Session

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 224

BY REPRESENTATIVE SCHAMERHORN

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2025 Class B state championship

A RESOLUTION

2 To commend the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track team on winning the Louisiana 3 High School Athletic Association 2025 Class B state championship. 4 WHEREAS, the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track team captured the 2025 5 Class B state title by scoring seventy-three team points at the 2025 Ochsner LHSAA Track 6 & Field Meet held at Bernie Moore Track on the campus of Louisiana State University in 7 Baton Rouge; and 8 WHEREAS, over the last forty years, the Anacoco Lady Indians track team has won 9 two state titles and eight state runner-up finishes; the team previously won the Class B state 10 championship in 2004; and 11 WHEREAS, the Anacoco girls were dominant throughout the Class B competitions 12 of the championship meet; Sophia Acevedo-Swinney won the 300-meter hurdles, breaking 13 her own school record, and placed second in the 100-meter hurdles and fourth in the 800-14 meter run; Jayce Brumley won the discus competition with a new school record and placed 15 second in shot put; Madi Stanley won the 400-meter race and placed second in the 200-meter 16 race, setting a school record in both events; and 17 WHEREAS, Anacoco's Hayley Smith placed fifth in the 300-meter hurdles, Kinsley 18 Patin placed fourth in both the 1600-meter run and the 3200-meter run, Hayley Gilbert 19 placed sixth in the 1600-meter run and fifth in the 3200-meter run, and Joanna Mawae 20 placed eighth in the long jump and fifth in the high jump; and

1 WHEREAS, the Anacoco girls' 4x400-meter relay team of Sophia Acevedo-Swinney, 2 Riley Draughn, Brylee Goins, and Madi Stanley won the race by more than eight seconds, 3 but suffered a lane violation ruling that disqualified the team from the race; and 4 WHEREAS, the Anacoco girls' 4x200-meter relay team of Riley Draughn, Brylee 5 Goins, Madi Stanley, and McKenzie Hyatt placed fifth, and the 4x100-meter relay team of 6 Joanna Mawae, Tinslee Imotichey, Leah Harmer, and McKenzie Hyatt placed ninth; and 7 WHEREAS, the Anacoco High School girls' track team is led by coaches Brittany 8 Draughn and Tammy Cecil, and the team is most deserving of the highest recognition for 9 their incredible achievements this season. 10 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the 11 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track 12 team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2025 Class B state 13 championship and does hereby encourage the members of the team to continue their 14 incredible work and always strive for greatness in all of their endeavors.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 224 Original

2025 Regular Session

Schamerhorn

Commends the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track team on winning the La. High School Athletic Assoc. 2025 Class B state championship.