# 2025 Regular Session

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 224

## BY REPRESENTATIVE SCHAMERHORN

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2025 Class B state championship.

WHEREAS, the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track team captured the 2025 Class B state title by scoring seventy-three team points at the 2025 Ochsner LHSAA Track & Field Meet held at Bernie Moore Track on the campus of Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge; and

WHEREAS, over the last forty years, the Anacoco Lady Indians track team has won two state titles and eight state runner-up finishes; the team previously won the Class B state championship in 2004; and

WHEREAS, the Anacoco girls were dominant throughout the Class B competitions of the championship meet; Sophia Acevedo-Swinney won the 300-meter hurdles, breaking her own school record, and placed second in the 100-meter hurdles and fourth in the 800meter run; Jayce Brumley won the discus competition with a new school record and placed second in shot put; Madi Stanley won the 400-meter race and placed second in the 200-meter race, setting a school record in both events; and

WHEREAS, Anacoco's Hayley Smith placed fifth in the 300-meter hurdles, Kinsley Patin placed fourth in both the 1600-meter run and the 3200-meter run, Hayley Gilbert placed sixth in the 1600-meter run and fifth in the 3200-meter run, and Joanna Mawae placed eighth in the long jump and fifth in the high jump; and

WHEREAS, the Anacoco girls' 4x400-meter relay team of Sophia Acevedo-Swinney, Riley Draughn, Brylee Goins, and Madi Stanley won the race by more than eight seconds, but suffered a lane violation ruling that disqualified the team from the race; and WHEREAS, the Anacoco girls' 4x200-meter relay team of Riley Draughn, Brylee Goins, Madi Stanley, and McKenzie Hyatt placed fifth, and the 4x100-meter relay team of Joanna Mawae, Tinslee Imotichey, Leah Harmer, and McKenzie Hyatt placed ninth; and

WHEREAS, the Anacoco High School girls' track team is led by coaches Brittany Draughn and Tammy Cecil, and the team is most deserving of the highest recognition for their incredible achievements this season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Anacoco High School Lady Indians track team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2025 Class B state championship and does hereby encourage the members of the team to continue their incredible work and always strive for greatness in all of their endeavors.

# SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES