SLS 25RS-2140 **ORIGINAL**

2025 Regular Session

1

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 147

BY SENATOR BARROW

COMMENDATIONS. Commends each Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend each Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for exemplary and
3	dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.
4	WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication,
5	inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student
8	achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two or three times the impact of any
9	other school factor; and
10	WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created to publicly honor and
11	recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success in school
12	and in life; and
13	WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools
14	located in Senate District 15 are as follows:
15	Fraundla Washington, Baker Heights Elementary School/Park Ridge
16	Sandra Anthony-Grimes, Baker Middle School
17	Cardiss Beathley, Baker High School
18	Ariana Morejon, Belaire High School

1	April Givens, Crestworth Elementary School
2	Markeyda Scott, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence
3	Tonya Sanders, Glen Oaks Elementary School
4	Ryan Williams, Glen Oaks Magnet High School
5	Audrey Henry, Glen Oaks Magnet High School
6	Cai Wynn, Greenbrier Elementary School
7	Farrell Knighten, La Belle Aire Elementary School
8	Tammy May-Gray, Merrydale Elementary School
9	Kristie Chauvin, Northdale Superintendent's Academy
10	Andrea Griffin, Northdale Superintendent's Academy
11	Sydney Phelps, Park Forest Middle School
12	Bridget Domino-Robinson, Progress Elementary School
13	Naomi Doll, Rollins Place Elementary School
14	Chiwani Perkins, Ryan Elementary School
15	Principal Paul M. Jackson, Scotlandville Magnet High School
16	Pamela Francis, Scotlandville Magnet High School
17	Nikita LaCour-Dukes, Scotlandville Middles Pre-Engineering Academy
18	Briauna Hopkins, Sharon Hills Elementary School
19	Georgetta Lathers, Twin Oaks Elementary School
20	Linda Goodson, Twin Oaks Elementary School
21	Ashley Briley, Villa Del Rey Elementary School
22	Kirk Green, Westdale Middle School
23	Victoria Gainous, Zachary Elementary School; and
24	WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their
25	students, their colleagues, and their communities.
26	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
27	does hereby commend each Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for
28	exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.
29	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each
30	Teacher of the Year recognized herein.

SLS 25RS-2140 <u>ORIGINAL</u> SR NO. 147

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Senate Legislative Services. The keyword, summary, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

DIGEST 2025 Regular Session

SR 147 Original

Barrow

Commends each Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.