SLS 25RS-1908 **ORIGINAL**

2025 Regular Session

1

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 153

BY SENATOR BOUDREAUX

COMMENDATIONS. Commends and congratulates Teurlings Catholic High School on winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Baseball Division II Select Championship.

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend and congratulate Teurlings Catholic High School on winning the 2025
3	Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LSHAA) Baseball Division II Select
4	Championship.
5	WHEREAS, the Louisiana State Senate takes great pride in recognizing the
6	achievements of student-athletes who bring honor to their schools and communities through
7	hard work, perseverance, and excellence in competition; and
8	WHEREAS, Teurlings Catholic High School, located in Lafayette, Louisiana, has
9	established itself as a powerhouse in high school baseball, capturing back-to-back state titles
10	in the LSHAA Division II Select classification in 2024 and 2025; and
11	WHEREAS, the Rebels capped off their exceptional 2025 campaign with an
12	impressive overall record of 34 wins and only 5 losses, going undefeated in District 4-4A
13	play with a 9-0 record and earning the district championship; and
14	WHEREAS, Teurlings Catholic displayed dominance in the 2025 championship
15	series, defeating E.D. White Catholic High School by a score of 14-3 in Game 3 of the
16	finals, with a stunning offensive performance that saw the Rebels surge to a 12-0 lead in just
17	two innings, scoring six runs in both the first and second frames; and
18	WHEREAS, junior Evan Vincent earned the Outstanding Player of the Finals Honor

for the second consecutive year, showing exceptional leadership and sportsmanship, and

1

2 humbly credited his teammates in accepting his award; and 3 WHEREAS, the Rebels were led by Head Coach Brooks Badeaux, a proud 1994 4 graduate of Teurlings Catholic, who praised his players for their resilience, focus, and ability to rise to the challenge of defending their title; and 5 WHEREAS, the state champion team members include: Brant Badeaux, Ryan 6 Berard, Andrew DeValcourt, Jace Garber, Zan Johnson, Jack Ortego, Jack Purser, Tucker 7 8 Romero, Porter Stuart, Axel Tyler, Jackson Breaux, Dylan Helms, Ross Higdon, Nicholas 9 Mire, William Power, Brennen Storms, Evan Vincent, Isaac Boudreaux, Nicholas Brown, 10 Kaden Chavis, Hudson Clavelle, Carson Credeur, Oliver Dean, Karter Deculus, Maddox 11 Domingue, Mason Gonzales, Lincoln Guillory, Douglas Kade Schambough, Ryder Thomas, 12 Miller Yerby; and 13 WHEREAS, Coach Badeaux, along with assistant coaches Dayton Landry, Mike Lemoine, Douglas Schambough, and Bart Vitte, and athletic trainer Ricky Landry, provided 14 vital leadership, development, and support to their athletes throughout the season; and 15 WHEREAS, the remarkable achievements of the Teurlings Catholic High School 16 baseball team deserve recognition for exemplifying the values of teamwork, determination, 17 18 and excellence. 19 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana hereby commends and congratulates Teurlings Catholic High School baseball team on 20 winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Baseball Division II Select 21 22 Championship for the second consecutive year. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head 23 Coach Brooks Badeaux. 24

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Senate Legislative Services. The keyword, summary, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

DIGEST 2025 Regular Session

SR 153 Original

Boudreaux

Commends Teurlings Catholic High School on winning the 2025 Baseball Division II Select Championship for the second consecutive year.