GREEN SHEET REDIGEST

HB 661 2025 Regular Session Miller

HEALTH/LDH: Provides relative to fees collected by the Louisiana Department of Health

DIGEST

<u>Present law</u> establishes that LDH may inspect a food and beverage vendor at the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival for compliance with the state sanitary code.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that LDH shall charge a \$25 permit fee to each food and beverage vendor at the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires LDH shall charge a fee of \$15 for each export certificate or certificate of free sale issued at the request of a manufacturer or distributor whose operations are subject to LDH jurisdiction.

<u>Proposed law modifies present law increasing the following sewage fees:</u>

- (1) Individual-type sewerage system installed for residential use one-time fee increases from \$100 to \$150.
- (2) Sewerage installer license annual fee increases from \$100 to \$150.
- (3) Sewerage maintenance license annual fee increases from \$100 to \$150.
- (4) Combination installer and maintenance license increases from \$100 to \$150.
- (5) Sewerage treatment and interrelated systems inspection <u>from</u> \$100 to \$150.

<u>Present law</u> provides that LDH may charge a fee for inspecting sewerage treatment and interrelated systems if all of the following circumstances exist:

- (1) The systems are designed to produce less than or equal to 1,500 gallons of effluent.
- (2) The systems do not limit or reduce the effluent and of sewage per day.
- (3) The systems contain a device for disinfecting effluent approved by LDH.

<u>Proposed law</u> repeals the fee that LDH may collect for inspecting sewerage treatment and interrelated systems provided for in <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides that fees established in <u>present law</u> shall replace fees under the heading "Sewerage" promulgated in the June 20, 1989 Louisiana Register.

<u>Proposed law</u> repeals <u>present law</u>.

<u>Proposed law</u> establishes a \$100 fee for LDH to review any plans required to be submitted to LDH in connection with a permit application for a new facility, operation, or establishment or substantial renovation of an existing facility, operation, or establishment. <u>Proposed law</u> further provides that an entity may pay an alternative fee of \$1,000 to expedite the review process.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires a retail permit holder authorized to sell therapeutic marijuana to pay an annual fee of \$22,500.

Effective upon signature of governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 40:4.7, 31.32(B), (D) and (E) and 1046(G)(1)(b); adds R.S. 40:31.31.1 and 31.40; repeals R.S. 40:31.32(F))

Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

The Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Health and Welfare</u> to the <u>original</u> bill:

- 1. Establish a fee for a retail permit holder authorized to recommend therapeutic marijuana.
- 2. Remove <u>proposed law</u> relative to a fee for registering therapeutic marijuana products.
- 3. Make technical changes.

Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

<u>Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Health and Welfare to the</u> <u>reengrossed bill</u>

- 1. Increase the fee for individual-type sewerage systems installed for residential use.
- 2. Make technical changes.