HLS 25RS-4114 ORIGINAL

2025 Regular Session

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 324

BY REPRESENTATIVE FREEMAN

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team on winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Speech League State Tournament

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team on winning the 2025
3	Louisiana High School Speech League State Tournament.
4	WHEREAS, the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team claimed the Overall
5	State Debate Champions title and numerous individual awards at the 2025 Louisiana High
6	School Speech League State Tournament in Lafayette, Louisiana; and
7	WHEREAS, the Isidore Newman speech and debate team is made up of fifty-seven
8	students, forty-six of whom qualified for the state tournament; the state tournament consisted
9	of a variety of competitions, including Lincoln Douglas debate, policy debate, public forum
0	debate, congressional debate, extemporaneous speaking, impromptu speaking, and
1	informative speaking; and
12	WHEREAS, thirty-one members of the Isidore Newman speech and debate team
13	were named to the All-State Speech Team; and
4	WHEREAS, Isidore Newman delivered an incredible performance across the board
15	at the state tournament; in the Advanced Public Forum Debate competition, Amar Walia and
16	Sam Elichman claimed first place and were named state champions, Henry Leyens and Aditi
17	Shridhar were named co-champions, and Morgan Breaux and Zoila Linares tied for third
18	place; Amar Walia was also selected as Top Speaker; and

HLS 25RS-4114

ORIGINAL HR NO. 324

1	WHEREAS, in the Advanced Lincoln Douglas Debate competition, Andrew Brandt
2	and Jackson Dirks tied for first place and were named state champions; Dylan Carey, Russell
3	Huber, and Miles Bordelon were recognized as co-champions; in the Novice Lincoln
4	Douglas Debate competition, Beau Dirks placed first and was named state champion and
5	Henry Drew was named co-champion; and
6	WHEREAS, in the Advanced Policy Debate competition, Shrey Agrawal and Gunnar
7	Wentz shared third place with Sabie DeBiase and Vivan Zhou; Aria Jolly was named
8	2nd Overall Speaker, and Hudson Nguyen was named 3rd Overall Speaker; in the
9	Congressional Debate competition, Aria Jolly placed first and was named state champion,
10	Lexie Toshav placed third, Andrew Brandt placed fourth, Jiya Jolly Placed fifth, Russell
11	Huber placed sixth, and Jacob Valentino placed eighth; and
12	WHEREAS, in the Varsity Extemporaneous Speaking competition, Lexie Toshav
13	placed first, Russell Huber placed second, Andrew Brandt placed fourth, Aria Jolly placed
14	fifth, and Jackson Dirks placed sixth; Wyatt Conner placed third in the Novice
15	Extemporaneous Speaking competition; and
16	WHEREAS, in the Novice Impromptu Speaking competition, Wyatt Conner placed
17	third, Julia Rai placed fourth, and Henry Leyens placed fifth; in the Varsity Impromptu
18	Speaking competition, Lexie Toshav placed first, Aria Jolly placed third, and Andrew Brandt
19	placed fifth; Wendy Sun placed fifth in the Informative Speaking competition, and Lexie
20	Toshav was the winner of the Forensics Award; and
21	WHEREAS, the members of the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team are
22	most deserving of the highest recognition for their incredible achievements at the
23	tournament.
24	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
25	Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Isidore Newman School speech and
26	debate team on winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Speech League State Tournament
27	and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the members of the team continue their
28	excellent work and always strive for greatness in all of their endeavors.

HLS 25RS-4114

ORIGINAL
HR NO. 324

## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 324 Original

2025 Regular Session

Freeman

Commends the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team on winning the 2025 La. High School Speech League State Tournament.