BY SENATORS SEABAUGH, BARROW, BASS, BOUIE, CARTER, CATHEY, EDMONDS, FESI, FOIL, HENRY, HODGES, JACKSON-ANDREWS, JENKINS, MCMATH, MIGUEZ, MILLER, MIZELL, MORRIS, OWEN, PRESSLY, PRICE, STINE AND WOMACK AND REPRESENTATIVE MELERINE

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Louisiana State University Shreveport Pilots Baseball

Team for their historic undefeated 59-0 season culminating in winning the 2025

National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Baseball National Championship,
their first national championship in program history.

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the Legislature of Louisiana recognizes the extraordinary achievements of the Louisiana State University Shreveport (LSUS) Pilots Baseball Team during the 2025 season; and

WHEREAS, under the expert leadership of Head Coach Brad Neffendorf, the LSUS Pilots completed a truly historic campaign, finishing the season with a flawless 59-0 record, becoming the first team in college baseball history at any level to accomplish an undefeated season while also sweeping through the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) national tournament to win the 2025 NAIA Baseball National Championship; and

WHEREAS, this incredible 59-game win streak shattered the previous college baseball record of 57 consecutive wins set by Howard College in 2009, establishing a new and unmatched benchmark of excellence in collegiate athletics; and

WHEREAS, on May 30, 2025, at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho, the LSUS Pilots defeated Southeastern University (Florida) by a score of 13-7 to claim the 2025 Arista NAIA Baseball World Series title, securing not only the program's first national title but also the first national championship in any sport for Louisiana State University Shreveport; and

WHEREAS, the Pilots exhibited tremendous grit and determination in the championship game, overcoming a 4-0 deficit in the second inning with explosive offensive performances, including Jose Silurian's three hits and three RBI, and back-to-back solo home runs in the sixth inning by Jackson Spring and Ian Month; and

SCR NO. 68 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the team's dominance was on full display throughout the season, including 28 games won by 10 or more runs, a team batting average of .361 (ranking third in the NAIA), and an impressive average of 11.3 runs per game (second in the NAIA),

exemplifying both offensive firepower and defensive consistency; and

WHEREAS, the team's exceptional season was further recognized through numerous individual honors, with five players, Josh Gibson, Draven Zeigler, Isaac Rohde, Cobe Reeves, and Ventral Reed, being named to the 2025 NAIA Baseball All-American Teams,

and Isaac Rohde earning the prestigious Most Valuable Player award; and

WHEREAS, the LSUS Pilots Baseball Team has brought great honor and pride to their university, their community, and the entire state of Louisiana through their record-breaking season, inspiring future generations of student-athletes.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Louisiana State University Shreveport Pilots Baseball Team for their unprecedented 59-0 undefeated season and winning the 2025 National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Baseball National Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Brad Neffendorf and the LSUS Athletic Department.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES