2025 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 324

BY REPRESENTATIVE FREEMAN

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team on winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Speech League State Tournament.

WHEREAS, the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team claimed the Overall State Debate Champions title and numerous individual awards at the 2025 Louisiana High School Speech League State Tournament in Lafayette, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the Isidore Newman speech and debate team is made up of fifty-seven students, forty-six of whom qualified for the state tournament; the state tournament consisted of a variety of competitions, including Lincoln Douglas debate, policy debate, public forum debate, congressional debate, extemporaneous speaking, impromptu speaking, and informative speaking; and

WHEREAS, thirty-one members of the Isidore Newman speech and debate team were named to the All-State Speech Team; and

WHEREAS, Isidore Newman delivered an incredible performance across the board at the state tournament; in the Advanced Public Forum Debate competition, Amar Walia and Sam Elichman claimed first place and were named state champions, Henry Leyens and Aditi Shridhar were named co-champions, and Morgan Breaux and Zoila Linares tied for third place; Amar Walia was also selected as Top Speaker; and

WHEREAS, in the Advanced Lincoln Douglas Debate competition, Andrew Brandt and Jackson Dirks tied for first place and were named state champions; Dylan Carey, Russell Huber, and Miles Bordelon were recognized as co-champions; in the Novice Lincoln Douglas Debate competition, Beau Dirks placed first and was named state champion and Henry Drew was named co-champion; and

HR NO. 324 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, in the Advanced Policy Debate competition, Shrey Agrawal and Gunnar Wentz shared third place with Sabie DeBiase and Vivan Zhou; Aria Jolly was named 2nd Overall Speaker, and Hudson Nguyen was named 3rd Overall Speaker; in the Congressional Debate competition, Aria Jolly placed first and was named state champion, Lexie Toshav placed third, Andrew Brandt placed fourth, Jiya Jolly Placed fifth, Russell Huber placed sixth, and Jacob Valentino placed eighth; and

WHEREAS, in the Varsity Extemporaneous Speaking competition, Lexie Toshav placed first, Russell Huber placed second, Andrew Brandt placed fourth, Aria Jolly placed fifth, and Jackson Dirks placed sixth; Wyatt Conner placed third in the Novice Extemporaneous Speaking competition; and

WHEREAS, in the Novice Impromptu Speaking competition, Wyatt Conner placed third, Julia Rai placed fourth, and Henry Leyens placed fifth; in the Varsity Impromptu Speaking competition, Lexie Toshav placed first, Aria Jolly placed third, and Andrew Brandt placed fifth; Wendy Sun placed fifth in the Informative Speaking competition, and Lexie Toshav was the winner of the Forensics Award; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team are most deserving of the highest recognition for their incredible achievements at the tournament.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Isidore Newman School speech and debate team on winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Speech League State Tournament and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the members of the team continue their excellent work and always strive for greatness in all of their endeavors.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES