BY SENATOR BARROW AND REPRESENTATIVES BILLINGS, CARVER, CHASSION, COX, DOMANGUE, FREIBERG, JACKSON, KNOX, MARCELLE, MOORE, NEWELL AND STAGNI

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To create and provide for the Task Force on Blight to study and make recommendations on implementing a comprehensive plan to address property blight within the state.

WHEREAS, dilapidated properties and overgrown lots, otherwise known as blight, have long been among the parishes' and municipalities' most vexing challenges; and

WHEREAS, over the last forty years the legislature has sought ways to address blight across the state by enacting several statutes; and

WHEREAS, in the 1980s, the legislature sought to address blight by enacting Act 571 of the 1984 Regular Session which is referred to as the Urban Land-Banking Law; and

WHEREAS, under the Urban Land-Banking Law the legislature's findings and declaration state in part that, "[t]here exist in many cities of the state economically and physically depressed residential neighborhood areas which, among other things, suffer from high unemployment, substandard and deteriorated structures, vacant and partially used lots, overcrowded housing, high crime rates, and other blighting influences and undesirable conditions"; and

WHEREAS, in the 1990s, the legislature enacted the Slum Clearance Law as Act 1188 of the 1997 Regular Session authorizing municipalities to tackle slum conditions in a just and legal way; and

WHEREAS, a portion of the Slum Clearance Law states, "[w]henever any municipality finds that there exists within it dwellings which are unfit for human habitation due to dilapidation; defects increasing the hazards of fires, accidents, or other calamities; lack of ventilation, light, or sanitary facilities, or other conditions rendering the dwellings unsafe and unsanitary and dangerous or detrimental to health, safety, or morals, or that there are dwellings therein which are otherwise inimical to the welfare of its residents, it may exercise its police powers to remedy or eliminate those conditions in the manner provided in this Part"; and

SCR NO. 62 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, in the 2000s, the legislature enacted the Louisiana Housing Preservation Act as Act 355 of the 2006 Regular Session to address blighted and abandoned residential housing properties by authorizing the creation of a "blighted property list" which is prepared and periodically updated by a designated public official that identifies blighted housing properties in the jurisdiction of the local governmental subdivision; and

WHEREAS, the legislature seeks to address property blight by studying and reviewing comprehensive plans to eradicate blight in Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby establish and provide for the Task Force on Blight to study implementing a comprehensive plan to address property blight within the state, and to propose recommendations, together with specific proposals for legislation, by written report to the legislature and to the David R. Poynter Legislative Research Library as required by R.S. 24:771 and 772, no later than March 1, 2026.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force should include consideration of the following:

- (1) A strategic plan to abate blight within the state.
- (2) Use of data-driven decision-making.
- (3) Strategic deployment of resources and place-based revitalization.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall consist of the following members:

- (1) The president of the Senate, or his designee, who shall serve as the chairman of the task force.
 - (2) The speaker of the House of Representatives, or his designee.
- (3) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Local and Municipal Affairs, or his designee.
- (4) The chairman of the House Committee on Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs, or his designee.
 - (5) The mayor of the city of New Orleans, or her designee.
 - (6) The mayor-president of East Baton Rouge Parish or his designee.
 - (7) The mayor of the city of Shreveport, or his designee.

SCR NO. 62 ENROLLED

(8) The executive director of the Louisiana Municipal Association, or his designee.

- (9) The executive director of the Louisiana Police Jury Association, or his designee.
- (10) The executive director of the Louisiana Housing Corporation, or his designee.
- (11) The secretary of the Louisiana Department of Health, or his designee.
- (12) The president of the Louisiana State University System, or his designee.
- (13) The president of the Southern University System, or his designee.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that each designating authority shall submit the names of designees to the task force to the secretary of the Senate no later than August 1, 2025.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED the task force shall convene for its first meeting no later than September 15, 2025, at the call of the chairman, and at the first meeting, the members shall elect a vice chairman and other officers as the task force may deem appropriate.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall be staffed by the Senate Committee on Local and Municipal Affairs.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a majority of the task force shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. All official actions of the task force shall require the affirmative vote of a majority of the members.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that meetings of the task force shall be subject to the Open Meetings Law, R.S. 42:11 et seq., and records of the task force shall be subject to the Public Records Law, R.S. 44:1 et seq.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the task force shall serve without compensation, except per diem or expenses reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of their constituent organizations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall terminate on the date of the submission of its report or June 1, 2026, whichever occurs first.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the mayor of the city of New Orleans, the mayor-president of East Baton Rouge Parish, the mayor of the city of Shreveport, the executive director of the Louisiana Municipal Association, the executive director of the Louisiana Police Jury Association, the executive

SCR NO. 62 ENROLLED

director of the Louisiana Housing Corporation, the secretary of the Louisiana Department of Health, the president of the Louisiana State University System, and the president of the Southern University System.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES