## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

## ACT 430 (SB 143)

## **2025 Regular Session**

Hensgens

Existing law (R.S. 46:1053(K)(1)) provides that in the parish of Vermilion, Hospital Service District No. 1 shall be governed by a commission composed of eight members. Provides that each chief of the medical staff at the Abrom Kaplan Memorial Hospital shall be a member of the commission during his term in office, and the additional members shall be appointed for initial terms of six years each by the police jury of the parish of Vermilion and thereafter shall serve six-year terms.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>existing law</u> but reduces the term of office for the commissioners of Vermilion Hospital Service District No. 1 appointed to serve six-year terms <u>from</u> six years to four years.

Existing law (R.S. 46:1053(L)(1)) provides that the Vermilion Parish Hospital Service District No. 2 shall be governed by a board of commissioners composed of seven members. One member shall be appointed by the parish governing authority from among the physicians who are residents of the district. If no physician is willing to serve, then the parish governing authority may appoint any person who is otherwise eligible to fill the office. Provides that the members appointed from among the physicians of the district and members appointed in place of such member shall serve two-year terms. Provides that all other members shall serve six-year terms.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>existing law</u> but reduces the term of office for commissioners of Vermilion Hospital Service District No. 2 appointed to serve six-year terms <u>from</u> six years to four years.

Effective August 1, 2025.

(Amends R.S. 46:1053(K)(1) and (L)(1))