RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 444 (SB 191) 20

2025 Regular Session

Edmonds

Existing law (R.S. 40:1496) provides for the composition of the board of commissioners for fire protection districts.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>existing law</u> and provides that the board of commissioners of the St. George Fire Protection District shall consist of five members. Provides that the city of St. George City Council shall appoint two members, the East Baton Rouge Metropolitan Council shall appoint two members, and the four appointed members of the board of commissioners shall appoint the fifth member.

<u>New law</u> provides that all members shall reside within the boundaries of the St. George Fire Protection District. Provides that the member appointed by the St. George City Council shall also reside within the city of St. George.

<u>New law</u> provides that initial terms of three of the commissioners shall be one year and the initial terms of two commissioners shall be two years as determined by lot. All subsequent terms of commissioners shall be two years.

Effective August 1, 2025.

(Adds R.S. 40:1496(J))