G. Jackson (HB 767)

<u>Existing law</u> divides the state into judicial districts. Provides that the parish of Jefferson composes the 24th Judicial District. Provides further that the 24th Judicial District shall have 16 judges.

According to the terms of the consent decree in *Clark v. Edwards*, 86-435-A (M.D. La. 1992), the 24th Judicial District was divided into seven subdistricts. Divisions G and O were assigned to Subdistrict 1; Divisions A, D, F, and N were assigned to Subdistrict 2; Divisions K and L were assigned to Subdistrict 3; Divisions H and I were assigned to Subdistrict 4; Divisions C and P were assigned to Subdistrict 5; Divisions J and M were assigned to Subdistrict 6; and Divisions B and E were assigned to Subdistrict 7.

<u>New law</u> divides the 24th Judicial District into three election sections and provides for the geographic boundaries of the election sections.

<u>New law</u> provides that four judges, Divisions E, J, M, and O, shall be elected from election section one; nine judges, Divisions A, B, D, F, H, I, K, L, and N, shall be elected from election section two; and three judges, Divisions C, G, and P, shall be elected from election section three.

<u>New law</u> specifies that precincts referenced in election section descriptions are those precincts identified as Voting Districts (VTDs) in the 2010 Census Redistricting TIGER/Line Shapefiles for the state of La. Also specifies that if any such precinct has been subdivided by action of the parish governing authority on a nongeographic basis or subdivided by action of the parish governing authority on a geographic basis in accordance with <u>existing law</u>, the enumeration of the general precinct designation shall include all nongeographic and all geographic subdivisions thereof. Further provides that the territorial limits of the election sections as enacted shall continue in effect without change regardless of any changes made to the precincts by the parish governing authority.

Effective in part upon signature of governor (June 1, 2012); effective in part on January 1, 2015.

(Amends R.S. 13:477(24) and 621.24)