SLS 13RS-2275 ORIGINAL

Regular Session, 2013

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 103

BY SENATOR JOHNS

1

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the St. Louis Catholic High School boys soccer team on winning their fourth consecutive state championship.

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	To commend and congratulate the St. Louis Catholic High School boys soccer team on
3	winning their fourth consecutive state championship.
4	WHEREAS, the St. Louis Catholic High School Saints became the first school in the
5	state to win four consecutive state soccer titles with a 3-0 win over Beau Chene in the
6	Division II championship game; and
7	WHEREAS, Will Solari scored twice in the first half to give the Saints control of the
8	game, opening the scoring six minutes into the game, taking a pass from Alex Kjellsten on
9	the right wing, dribbling past a defender and drilling the ball into the bottom left corner; and
10	WHEREAS, the Saints controlled the run of play for most of the half, peppering their
11	opponent with fifteen shots and just before half, Solari smashed a loose ball into the net to
12	give the Saints a 2-0 lead; and
13	WHEREAS, Beau Chene managed three shots in the first half, spending the majority
14	of the first forty minutes defending in their own half of the field; and
15	WHEREAS, the Saints continued to apply pressure in the second half with ten shots
16	but couldn't get one past the Beau Chene keeper until Mac Thompson poked home a loose
17	ball in the thirty-ninth minute to cap the scoring; and
18	WHEREAS, the Saints posted a record of twenty wins, five losses, and six ties; were

SLS 13RS-2275

ORIGINAL
SCR NO. 103

1 led by Athletic Director and Head Coach Jason Oertling and assistant coaches Duncan 2 McDonald, Luke Pousson, Irvin Clark, and Ali Gallier; and captured the state championship 3 for the tenth time in program history; and WHEREAS, the seniors on the Saints team, Nathan Hammond, Alex Kjellsten, 4 Wesley LaBiche, Mason Mayeaux, Marcus McNamara, John Gregory Percle, and Andrew 5 Soleau, has never lost a playoff game in four years; and 6 7 WHEREAS, the team also included players, Jonathan Allen, Brandon Amiot, 8 Andrew Ammons, Daltin Babineaux, Morgan Broussard, Michael Buisson, Nick Cironi, 9 Evan Falgoust, Logan Fuselier, Patrick Ieyoub, Andrew Jester, Ben Jester, Jon Lorio, 10 Michael Mack, Joe Manuel, Travis McMillian, Matthew McNamara, Brett Montelaro, Max 11 Morris, Thomas O'Dowd, Hunter Quarles, Brian Queenan, Cullen Richardson, Jacobo 12 Santacoloma, Clayton Sills, Evan Solieau, Alexander Stroh, Carter Sutton, Jack Vanchiere, 13 and Jacob Vinson; managers Kirby Oertling and Dylan Goodfriend; and medical staff Dr. 14 Ben Williams and trainer Chris Lahaye. 15 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 16 commend the St. Louis Catholic High School boys soccer team upon winning their fourth consecutive State Championship. 17 18 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to

Athletic Director and Head Coach Jason Oertling.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

19

DIGEST

Johns SCR No. 103

Commends the St. Louis Catholic High School boys soccer team upon winning their fourth consecutive state championship.