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Ponti HB No. 705

(KEYWORD, SUMMARY, AND DIGEST as amended by Senate committee
amendments)

TAX CREDITS:  Provides relative to solar energy systems tax credit and removes wind
energy systems tax credit

DIGEST

Present law authorizes a tax credit for the purchase and installation of a wind or solar energy
system.

Proposed law deletes the tax credit for wind energy systems and changes the tax credit for
solar energy systems to only one credit for a "solar electric system", a "solar thermal system",
or any combination of those components, designated in the proposed law as "system".

Present law authorizes tax credits against La. income taxes for the cost of purchase and
installation of a wind energy system or solar energy system, or both, by a taxpayer at his La.
residence, by the owner of a residential rental apartment project, or by a taxpayer who
purchases and installs such a system in a La. residence or a residential rental apartment
project.  Present law further authorizes a tax credit for the purchaser of a newly constructed
home with such a system already installed or where such a system is purchased and installed
at an existing home or apartment project.

Proposed law deletes the specific reference to a tax credit for installations in new or existing
residential rental apartment projects and provides that the tax credit is for the cost of the
installation of a "system" "at a residence located in Louisiana" and is allowed if it is installed
in a new or existing "home".

Proposed law provides that the tax credit is limited to one tax credit for a "system", that is,
a "solar electric system", a "solar thermal system", or any combination of those components.
Only one tax credit for the purchase and installation of a system is authorized for each
residence.

Present law authorizes a credit equal to 50% of the first $25,000 of the cost of each solar
energy system purchased and installed on or after Jan. 1, 2008.

Proposed law retains the credit of 50% of the first $25,000 of the cost for a "system" that is
purchased and installed at a Louisiana residence before January 1, 2018. The credit for the
cost of purchase and installation of a system at a Louisiana residence before January 1, 2018,
by a third party through a lease or other agreement with the owner of the residence" is 38%
of the first $25,000 of the cost.

There are no tax credits authorized, issued or granted for systems installed after December
31, 2017.

Proposed law requires a "system" to be installed on the property of the residence to which
the energy is delivered and requires the "system" to have been sold and installed by a person
who is licensed by the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors.

Proposed law prohibits the cost of a purchase from including inducements to purchase a
system which are listed in the proposed law.

Proposed law authorizes a refund of the excess of the credit over tax liability from current
collections of income, corporate franchise, and sales taxes.

Proposed law defines the components of a "solar electric system" and a "solar thermal
system".
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Present law requires the secretary of the Dept. of Revenue, in consultation with the secretary
of the Dept. of Natural Resources, to promulgate such rules and regulations as may be
necessary to carry out the provisions of present law.

Proposed law removes the need of DOR to consult with the Dept. of Natural Resources.

Proposed law provides that nothing in proposed law shall affect any claim, assessment,
appeal, suit, right, or cause of action for taxes or refunds due or accrued under the income
tax laws of this state before the date on which proposed law becomes effective. 

Effective January 1, 2014.

(Amends R.S. 47:6030(A) through (D), and (F); adds R.S. 47:6030(G))

Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

Committee Amendments Proposed by House Committee on Ways and Means to the
original bill.

1. Limited the maximum amount of solar thermal system tax credit to the lesser of
the 12-month average of the previous calendar year's energy needs of the
residence, or the number of kilowatts, up to 12 kilowatts, installed at a single
residence at a cost basis of $4.50 per watt. 

2. Limited the maximum amount of solar thermal system tax credit to $10,000 or
a cost basis of $4.50 per BTU equivalent watt for a single residence.

House Floor Amendments to the engrossed bill.

1. Makes technical changes.

Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Revenue and Fiscal Affairs
to the reengrossed bill

1. Deletes the separate calculation of tax credits for solar electric systems and solar
thermal systems and their changing rates and their "caps".

2. Specifies that no tax credits can be authorized, issued or granted for systems
installed after December 31, 2017.

3. Instead of an individual credit a solar electric system and a solar thermal system,
provides that the tax credit is limited to one or any combination of those
components.

4. Requires a "system" to be installed on the property of the residence to which the
energy is delivered and requires the "system" to have been sold and installed by
a person who is licensed by the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors.

5. Specifically authorizes only one tax credit each residence.

6. Changes the effective date from the governor's signature to January 1, 2014.


