<u>New law</u> provides for the creation of La. Sickle Cell Commission within the Department of Health and Hospitals.

Provides the commission shall be composed of eleven members:

- (1) Eight members shall be appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation, from a list submitted by each of the following organizations:
  - (a) A representative with the Sickle Cell Center of Southern Louisiana, Tulane University School of Medicine.
  - (b) A representative from Children's Hospital, New Orleans.
  - (c) A representative from the La. Primary Care Association.
  - (d) A representative from The Baton Rouge Sickle Cell Anemia Foundation, Inc.
  - (e) A representative from the Northeast Louisiana Sickle Cell Anemia Technical Resource Foundation, Inc.
  - (f) A representative from the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc., Northwest Louisiana Chapter.
  - (g) A representative from the Sickle Cell Anemia Research Foundation, Alexandria.
  - (h) A representative from the Southwest Louisiana Sickle Cell Anemia, Inc.
- (2) The secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals or his designee.
- (3) Two members appointed as follows:
  - (a) One member of the Senate appointed by the president.
  - (b) One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker.

New law provides for the procedures for meetings and the filling of vacancies.

New law provides for the functions of the commission.

Effective August 1, 2013.

(Adds R.S. 36:259(NN) and R.S. 40:2018.3)