DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

St. Germain

HB No. 793

Abstract: Provides for the membership of the board of commissioners of the Capital Area Groundwater Commission.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the board of commissioners of the Capital Area Groundwater Commission shall consist of 16 members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate.

Proposed law retains present law.

<u>Present law</u> provides one member shall be appointed from each parish in the district as nominated by the parish governing authorities. The parishes in the district are East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Pointe Coupee, West Baton Rogue, and West Feliciana. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides three members shall be appointed from nominations by industrial users in the district. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides three members shall be appointed from nominations by privately or publicly owned entities furnishing water for rural or municipal use within the district, with one of the three always being appointed from nominations by privately owned users furnishing a municipal water supply. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Proposed law</u> adds the director of the Dept. of Public Works of the city of Baton Rouge, or his designee, as a member of the Capital Area Groundwater Commission.

<u>Present law</u> provides that one member shall be the assistant secretary of the Dept. of Natural Resources or his designee who shall be a member of his staff. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides that one member shall be appointed from nominations by the La. Farm Bureau Federation and the La. Cattlemen's Association. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides that one member shall be the executive secretary of the La. Stream Control Commission or a member of his staff. <u>Proposed law</u> provides that one member shall be the secretary of the Dept. of Environmental Quality or his designee who shall be a member of his staff.

<u>Present law</u> provides that one member shall be appointed from nomination by the members of the board. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides for a time line for the appointment of the initial members after the effective date of <u>present law</u>. <u>Proposed law</u> removes time lines for the initial appointment.

<u>Present law</u> provides for staggered terms of the initial members. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present</u> <u>law</u> and provides that after the initial term all terms shall be three years, except the terms for members representing governmental entities whose term shall be contemporaneous with their office.

<u>Present law</u> provides that no member may serve more than two consecutive terms, except the members representing the Dept. of Public Works and the La. Stream Control Commission. <u>Proposed law</u> retains the two-term limit except for members representing governmental entities.

<u>Present law</u> provides terms begin for the initial appointees on the date of implementation of the district and that subsequent terms begin on the anniversary date of the date of implementation. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides for a procedure to replace members by notifying the nominating entities 60 days prior to the expiration of a term.

<u>Proposed law</u> repeals <u>present law</u> and provides that vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the governor in the manner in which that member was appointed in <u>proposed law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> requires that in any provision of law applicable to a groundwater conservation district located in a parish with population in excess of 400,000, according to the most recent federal decennial census, the term "director of the Dept. of Public Works" means the director of the municipal Dept. of Public Works for the municipality located in the district with the greatest population.

<u>Proposed law</u> repeals <u>present law</u> and defines the Dept. of Public Works as the Dept. of Public Works of the city of Baton Rouge.

(Amends R.S. 38:3074(A), (B)(3), (4), and (5), (C), and (D)(intro. para.); Adds R.S. 38:3073(14); Repeals R.S. 38:3074(D)(1)-(9) and Act No. 177 of the 2013 R.S.)

Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Transportation, Highways and</u> <u>Public Works</u> to the <u>original</u> bill.

1. Added the director of the Dept. of Public Works of the city of Baton Rouge, or his designee, as the sixteenth member of the Capital Area Groundwater Commission.

2. Made a technical change.