SLS 14RS-1630 ORIGINAL

Regular Session, 2014

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 36

BY SENATORS JOHNS, MORRISH AND JOHN SMITH

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the 1963 McNeese State College Football Team for its historic season.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the 1963 McNeese State College Football Team for a historic season and to
3	recognize team and individual achievements.
4	WHEREAS, McNeese State's football team achieved the school's first undefeated
5	season in 1963, as the team, coached by Head Coach L.C. "Les" DeVall, Defensive Coach
6	and Line Coach Jim Clark, Defensive Secondary and Backfield Coach Milton White, and
7	Offensive Line and End Coach Charlie Keuhn, were Gulf States Conference champs setting
8	five individual and six team school records en route to an 8-0-0 campaign; and
9	WHEREAS, the All-Gulf States Conference Team included First Team Selections
10	Defensive End Robert Young, Offensive Tackle Horace Harrington, Quarterback Tommy
11	Thompson; Halfback Charles Anastasio, and Fullback Darrell Lester with Young being
12	selected the Outstanding Lineman and Lester being named the Outstanding Back, while
13	Coach DeVall was Coach of the Year; the Second Team included Offensive Guard Errol
14	Eschete and Offensive Guard Parker Hudson; and Offensive Tackle Huey Simoneaux and
15	Center Gerald Conner were Third Team selections; and
16	WHEREAS, End Robert Young led the record assault as he caught more passes for
17	more yards and more touchdowns than any Cowboy before him, pulling in 26 passes for 393
18	yards and seven touchdowns, while tying a school single game record by catching two

1	scoring strikes in the Pokes' 14-7 season-ending victory over the University of Southwest
2	Louisiana; and
3	WHEREAS, Punter Returner-Halfback Lloyd Guillot and Kicker-Quarterback
4	Richard Guillory established other individual marks as Guillot averaged 12.5 yards per punt
5	return to eclipse the 12.1 mark he set in 1961 and Guillory kicked 20 of 23 extra point kicks
6	for an .870 percentage; and
7	WHEREAS, the powerful 1963 Cowboys smashed three team offense records and
8	two defensive standards and another record was set for ten consecutive victories, including
9	two at the end of the 1962 campaign; and
10	WHEREAS, McNeese averaged 375.6 yards total offense and 271.9 yards rushing
11	per game while compiling a 27.8 point scoring average; and
12	WHEREAS, the Cowboys allowed the opposing team to average only 159.8 yards
13	total and 80.4 yards rushing per game, the latter setting a conference record; and
14	WHEREAS, Quarterback Tommy Thompson repeated as the club leader in total
15	offense and punting and also led in forward passing, netting 665 yards, gaining 402 on 33
16	of 63 pass completions, and also averaged 35.8 yards per punt, as Coach DeVall declared
17	he was the finest all-around player he has ever coached; and
18	WHEREAS, Tailback Charlie Anastasio, a member of the CoSIDA Academic
19	All-America team, paced the Poke ground attack with 594 yards in 103 carries for a 5.8
20	average; and
21	WHEREAS, Fullback Darrell Lester, named to the Williamson Mid-Bracket
22	All-America team, rushing total was the best by a Cowboy in seven seasons as he led the
23	conference in scoring with 68 points while netting 490 yards in 114 carries; and
24	WHEREAS, Linebacker Gerald Conner was McNeese's field leader, serving as
25	captain and defensive signal caller, while he led the team with 35 individual tackles,
26	recovered one enemy fumble, and blocked one punt; and
27	WHEREAS, Paul Guidry played Tight End and also Linebacker and Defensive End,
28	and garnered All Conference honors in 1964 and 1965, had an outstanding professional
29	career from 1966-1974, including being a Team Captain with the Buffalo Bills, and was
30	inducted into the McNeese State University Hall of Fame in 1991; and

SLS 14RS-1630 ORIGINAL SR NO. 36

1	WHEREAS, the Cowboyroster also included Quarterback Dennis Trahan; Halfbacks
2	Tony Ber, George Berger, Billy Dore, Luther Herpin, Carol LeBlanc, and Merlin Walet;
3	Fullbacks Felix Simon, Russell Sonnier, and Daniel Suire; Ends Henry Brett, Terry Franks,
4	Earl Hicks, Ed Pomfret, and Larry Sessions; Tackles Frank Bishop, Mac Brown, Rudy
5	Kasarda, Rodney Knight, and Clay Tillman; Guards Ron Chaumont, Jimmy Langley, and
6	Bob Raxsdale; and Centers Ken Kemp and Ronnie Sanson; and
7	WHEREAS, the 1963 season record included wins over Louisiana Tech (27-6),
8	Howard College (28-0), University of Tampa (37-12), Northeast Louisiana (20-8), Louisiana
9	College (40-0), Northwestern State (21-13), Southeastern Louisiana (35-6), and
10	Southwestern Louisiana (14-7); and
11	WHEREAS, McNeese was one of only eighteen college teams in the land to go
12	undefeated being ranked fourth among the nation's small colleges in the Dick Dunkel Power
13	Index, tenth in the Associated Press sports writer's poll and twelfth in the United Press
14	International coaches' poll.
15	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
16	does hereby commend the 1963 McNeese State College Football Team for a historic season.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST

Johns SR No. 36

Commends the 1963 McNeese State College Football Team for a historic season and recognizes team and individual achievements.