BY SENATORS JOHNS, MORRISH AND JOHN SMITH

A RESOLUTION

To commend the 1963 McNeese State College Football Team for a historic season and to recognize team and individual achievements.

WHEREAS, McNeese State's football team achieved the school's first undefeated season in 1963, as the team, coached by Head Coach L.C. "Les" DeVall, Defensive Coach and Line Coach Jim Clark, Defensive Secondary and Backfield Coach Milton White, and Offensive Line and End Coach Charlie Keuhn, were Gulf States Conference champs setting five individual and six team school records en route to an 8-0-0 campaign; and

WHEREAS, the All-Gulf States Conference Team included First Team Selections
Defensive End Robert Young, Offensive Tackle Horace Harrington, Quarterback Tommy
Thompson; Halfback Charles Anastasio, and Fullback Darrell Lester with Young being
selected the Outstanding Lineman and Lester being named the Outstanding Back, while
Coach DeVall was Coach of the Year; the Second Team included Offensive Guard Errol
Eschete and Offensive Guard Parker Hudson; and Offensive Tackle Huey Simoneaux and
Center Gerald Conner were Third Team selections; and

WHEREAS, End Robert Young led the record assault as he caught more passes for more yards and more touchdowns than any Cowboy before him, pulling in 26 passes for 393 yards and seven touchdowns, while tying a school single game record by catching two scoring strikes in the Pokes' 14-7 season-ending victory over the University of Southwest Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Punter Returner-Halfback Lloyd Guillot and Kicker-Quarterback Richard Guillory established other individual marks as Guillot averaged 12.5 yards per punt return to eclipse the 12.1 mark he set in 1961 and Guillory kicked 20 of 23 extra point kicks for an .870 percentage; and

WHEREAS, the powerful 1963 Cowboys smashed three team offense records and two defensive standards and another record was set for ten consecutive victories, including two at the end of the 1962 campaign; and

SR NO. 36 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, McNeese averaged 375.6 yards total offense and 271.9 yards rushing per game while compiling a 27.8 point scoring average; and

WHEREAS, the Cowboys allowed the opposing team to average only 159.8 yards total and 80.4 yards rushing per game, the latter setting a conference record; and

WHEREAS, Quarterback Tommy Thompson repeated as the club leader in total offense and punting and also led in forward passing, netting 665 yards, gaining 402 on 33 of 63 pass completions, and also averaged 35.8 yards per punt, as Coach DeVall declared he was the finest all-around player he has ever coached; and

WHEREAS, Tailback Charlie Anastasio, a member of the CoSIDA Academic All-America team, paced the Poke ground attack with 594 yards in 103 carries for a 5.8 average; and

WHEREAS, Fullback Darrell Lester, named to the Williamson Mid-Bracket All-America team, had a rushing total that was the best by a Cowboy in seven seasons as he led the conference in scoring with 68 points while netting 490 yards in 114 carries; and

WHEREAS, Linebacker Gerald Conner was McNeese's field leader, serving as captain and defensive signal caller, while he led the team with 35 individual tackles, recovered one enemy fumble, and blocked one punt; and

WHEREAS, Paul Guidry played Tight End and also Linebacker and Defensive End, and garnered All Conference honors in 1964 and 1965, had an outstanding professional career from 1966-1974, including being a Team Captain with the Buffalo Bills, and was inducted into the McNeese State University Hall of Fame in 1991; and

WHEREAS, the Cowboy roster also included Quarterback Dennis Trahan; Halfbacks Tony Ber, George Berger, Billy Dore, Luther Herpin, Carol LeBlanc, and Merlin Walet; Fullbacks Felix Simon, Russell Sonnier, and Daniel Suire; Ends Henry Brett, Terry Franks, Earl Hicks, Ed Pomfret, and Larry Sessions; Tackles Frank Bishop, Mac Brown, Rudy Kasarda, Rodney Knight, and Clay Tillman; Guards Ron Chaumont, Jimmy Langley, and Bob Raxsdale; and Centers Ken Kemp and Ronnie Sanson; and

WHEREAS, the 1963 season record included wins over Louisiana Tech (27-6), Howard College (28-0), University of Tampa (37-12), Northeast Louisiana (20-8), Louisiana College (40-0), Northwestern State (21-13), Southeastern Louisiana (35-6), and

SR NO. 36 ENROLLED

Southwestern Louisiana (14-7); and

WHEREAS, McNeese was one of only eighteen college teams in the land to go undefeated being ranked fourth among the nation's small colleges in the Dick Dunkel Power Index, tenth in the Associated Press sports writer's poll and twelfth in the United Press International coaches' poll.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the 1963 McNeese State College Football Team for a historic season.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE