SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 29

BY SENATOR HEITMEIER

A RESOLUTION

To direct the Department of Health and Hospitals to create a working group to develop strategies to decrease primary care utilization in emergency rooms in hospitals across Louisiana.

WHEREAS, it is a significant financial cost to provide primary care services within a hospital emergency room; and

WHEREAS, in fiscal year 2013 the Louisiana Medicaid program spent approximately one hundred seventy-six million dollars on hospital payments for emergency room visits; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Health and Hospitals has projected approximately seventy-three million dollars of the approximately one hundred seventy-six million dollars being spent on non-emergent care; and

WHEREAS, it should be a fundamental policy goal of this state to develop strategies to decrease primary care utilization in emergency rooms in hospitals across Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby direct the Department of Health and Hospitals to create a working group to develop strategies to decrease primary care utilization in emergency rooms in hospitals across Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group study and develop strategies to decrease primary care utilization in emergency rooms in hospitals in Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group determine the number for a calendar year of individuals visiting emergency rooms in Louisiana hospitals seeking treatment for behavioral health issues, including specifically the number of individuals visiting an emergency room in a suicidal state, and whether the emergency room is the

proper treatment venue for such individuals

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group shall make recommendations and submit a report of their work to the legislature.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group shall be staffed by the Department of Health and Hospitals.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group be comprised of the following members:

(1) The secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals or his designee.

(2) The executive director of the Louisiana Association of Health Plans or his designee.

(3) The executive director of the Louisiana Hospital Association or his designee.

(4) A member of the Louisiana Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

(5) A representative from the Medicaid managed care organization contracted with the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the working group shall serve without compensation except per diem or expense reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of their organizations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals or his designee shall serve as the chairperson of the working group.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the chairperson of the working group shall call the first meeting of the working group no later than September 1, 2014.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a majority of the total membership of the working group shall constitute a quorum of the working group, and any official action by the working group shall require an affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum present and voting.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group may conduct such meetings at such times as it deems necessary or convenient to enable it to exercise fully and effectively its powers, perform its duties, and accomplish the objectives and purposes of this Resolution.

SR NO. 29

ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group shall make a report of its work and shall submit the report to the legislature no later than sixty days prior to the convening of the 2015 Regular Session.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the authority of the working group shall terminate on March 1, 2015.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals, the executive director of the Louisiana Association of Health Plans, the executive director of the Louisiana Hospital Association, and the Louisiana Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE