## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 68

BY SENATORS NEVERS, ADLEY, ALARIO, ALLAIN, AMEDEE, APPEL, BROOME, BROWN, BUFFINGTON, CHABERT, CLAITOR, CORTEZ, CROWE, DONAHUE, DORSEY-COLOMB, ERDEY, GALLOT, GUILLORY, HEITMEIER, JOHNS, KOSTELKA, LAFLEUR, LONG, MARTINY, MILLS, MORRELL, MORRISH, MURRAY, PEACOCK, PERRY, PETERSON, RISER, GARY SMITH, JOHN SMITH, TARVER, THOMPSON, WALSWORTH, WARD WHITE AND AND REPRESENTATIVES ABRAMSON, ARNOLD, BERTHELOT, BILLIOT, WESLEY BISHOP, BROADWATER, HENRY BURNS, BURRELL, COX, CROMER, EDWARDS, GAINES, GAROFALO, HAZEL, HENRY, HILL, HODGES, MACK, ORTEGO, POPE, PUGH, SCHEXNAYDER, SCHRODER, SIMON, SMITH, ST. GERMAIN, STOKES, WHITNEY AND WILLMOTT

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate Head Coach Ron Roberts and the Southeastern Louisiana
University Lions Football Team for an outstanding season, garnering its first
conference championship since 1961, and for its grand showing at the first-ever trip
to the Football Championship Subdivision Playoffs.

WHEREAS, the coaches and players of the Southeastern Louisiana University Lions are to be commended for a spectacular winning season and for their overall finish as No. 6 in the Sports Network and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) Coaches' polls; and

WHEREAS, the Southeastern Louisiana University Lions team produced an 11-3 winning season and hosted two playoff games at home in Strawberry Stadium in Hammond; and

WHEREAS, hearty congratulations are extended to Head Coach Ron Roberts along with his staff, Associate Head Coach, E. K. Franks, and Assistant Coaches, Pete Golding, Brandon Lacy, Travis Mikel, Sean O'Sullivan, Chet Pobolish, Karl Scott, Greg Stevens, Wesley Satterfield, and Patrick Toney; and

WHEREAS, Ron Roberts, head coach of the Lions, deserves extraordinary kudos on being named Coach of the Year by the Southland Conference, Louisiana Sports Writers Association, and American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Region 5; and

WHEREAS, these proud and outstanding players fill out the SLU Lions roster:

SCR NO. 68 ENROLLED

Xavier Roberson, Todd Washington, Kevin Harmon, Rasheed Harrell, Bryan Bennett, Tommy Elliott, Theo Alexander, Kody Sutton, John Graves, Chris Malott, Isiah Corbett, Tony McCrea, Marquis Fruge', Marice Sutton, Kendrick Peeples, Devante Scott, Denzel Thompson, James Scales III, Jeremy Williams, Jarrell Bennett, Eric Jenkins, Jeff Smiley, Jordan Barnett, Matt McCormick, Ben Todd, Justin Posthuma, Isaiah Kepley, Marquis Hayes, Tanner Wells, Torrey Jackson, Drew Misita, Rufus Wolokolie, Blane Arnold, Tyler Stoddard, Josh Dakin, Trenon Trosclair, Ryan Sigers, Harlan Miller, Darius Guy, Courtney Rutledge, Cole LeBlanc, Ashton Hilliard, Paul Kopesky, Alex Herbert, Kaleb Muse, Tiray Dove, Harris Beall, Tim Callian, Brody Hay, Delwin Davis, Ryan Adams, John Roberts, Seth Sebastian, Ridge Womack, Tyler Tourelle, Caleb Young, John Andrews, A. J. Bowen, Hunter Brian, Conner Hodgeson, Taylor Jenkins, Juwaan Rogers, Josh Byars, TJ West, Cqulin Hubert, Toby Briggs, Jonathan Braddock, Brophy Hiatt, Taylor Romero, Laurence Ramsey, William Stream, Dereck Robinson, Michael Vick, Ryan Cockerton, Marshall Paris, Brent Wagner, Cory Zunker, Mathew Grabert, Geremy Wilson, Travis Romero, Charles Sataraka, Joe Graves, Taylor Cochran, Austin Poche, Tyler Abadie, Josue Miranda, Gaston Gabriel, Javari Nichols, D.J. Williams, Daniel Henderson, Nick Bickham, Carl Pearson, Jared Johnson, James Donaldson, Dario Robinson, Byron Johnson, Chase Keller, Jeremy Meyers, Brice Bishop, Hunter Craven, Marquel Combs, Greg Triay, Ivan Abarenov, Jordan Showalter, Jacob Newman, Justin Church, Titus Charles, Terangi Phifer, Scott Korte, and Peyton Zeringue; and

WHEREAS, individual honors were awarded to Bryan Bennett as the Southland Conference and Louisiana Player of the Year; he was also named along with Cqulin Hubert, Seth Sebastian, and Xavier Roberson to multiple All-America squads; and

WHEREAS, while several players went in the NFL draft, the majority of this winning team and their coaches look forward to many more sessions under the sun during the upcoming spring practice and all await the elation of that deafening roar of "Go Lions".

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Southeastern Louisiana University Lions Football Team, coaches, and staff upon a winning season and conference championship.

**SCR NO. 68 ENROLLED** 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Ron Roberts of the 2014 Southeastern Louisiana University Football Team.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES