Regular Session, 2014

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 75

BY REPRESENTATIVE BURRELL

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, upon the celebration of its one hundred eighth anniversary as an organization and recognizes May 5, 2014, as Alpha Phi Alpha Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, was founded on December 4, 1906, at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, as the first intercollegiate Greek-letter organization established for African American men; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha has provided voice, insight, inspiration, and direction to African Americans and people of color around the world; and

WHEREAS, the visionary founders of Alpha Phi Alpha, known as the "Seven Jewels" of the fraternity, were Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle, and Vertner Woodson Tandy; and

WHEREAS, the fraternity initially served as a study and support group for minority students who faced racial prejudice, both educationally and socially, at Cornell; and

WHEREAS, the founders and early leaders of the fraternity succeeded in laying a firm foundation for Alpha Phi Alpha's principles of scholarship, fellowship, good character, and the uplifting of humanity; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha chapters were developed at other colleges and universities soon after the founding at Cornell; and

WHEREAS, the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, has numerous chapters in the state of Louisiana, and its hundreds of chapters worldwide continue the legacy of their predecessors by helping their fellow man, serving their communities, acting as mentors to youth, and carrying on the tradition of one of their members, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., by actively discussing civil rights; and

HCR NO. 75 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha spearheaded and oversaw the designing and building of

a monument in Dr. King's honor, which is the newest memorial on the National Mall in

Washington, D.C., the first to honor a non-president, and the first to honor a man of color; and

WHEREAS, other notable members of Alpha Phi Alpha include W.E.B. Dubois, Adam

Clayton Powell, Jr., Edward Brooke, Thurgood Marshall, Paul Robeson, William Gray, and

Andrew Young; and

WHEREAS, this year, Alpha Phi Alpha members from across Louisiana will travel to

Baton Rouge in order to celebrate the contributions and sacrifices in the legislature of fourteen

past Alpha brothers and those currently serving: Representatives Roy A. Burrell, Wesley T.

Bishop, Herbert B. Dixon, Patrick O. Jefferson, and Vincent J. Pierre and Senators Terry R.

Brown and Elbert Guillory; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of the dedication and commitment exhibited by the members

of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, May 5, 2014, is Alpha Phi Alpha Day at the

Louisiana State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to set aside a special day to commend Alpha Phi Alpha

Fraternity, Incorporated, for its programs and activities that exemplify the importance of service

to all mankind and to recognize the positive impact the fraternity has on the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

commend Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, upon the celebration of the one hundred

eighth anniversary of the organization; does hereby express gratitude to the Alpha Phi Alpha

Fraternity, Incorporated, for the service of its members toward promoting safety, health, culture,

and education to the people of the state of Louisiana, the nation, and the world; and does hereby

recognize May 5, 2014, as Alpha Phi Alpha Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to

the Louisiana District Director, Southwestern Regional Vice President, Executive Director, and

General President of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE