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Prohibits an employer benefit account being relieved from payment when the employer failed to timely respond to request for
information. (See Act)

In present law, in making determinations of unemployment claims, the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) requires
information necessary for timely determination of claims from each employer. If and when a former employee is disqualified
from receiving unemployment benefits, present law provides the employer's experience rating account shall not be charged
so long as the employer timely filed notice to LWC (10 days from the date of mailing). Proposed law retains present law but
further provides that an employer response is adequate if it provides sufficient facts to enable the LWC to make the correct
determination and a response may not be considered inadequate if the LWC failed to ask for all necessary information. If the
employer does not timely and adequately respond to LWC information requests, the proposed law provides that employer's
reserve account or reimbursable employer's account shall be charged for benefits relating to an improper benefit payment to
a claimant after 10/21/2013. Proposed law brings LWC into conformity with the Federal Trade Adjustment Assistance
Extension Act of 2011. Proposed law is retroactively to 10/21/2013.

EXPENDITURES 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
REVENUES 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 5 -YEAR TOTAL

State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure. The proposed
legislation requires the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC), Office of Unemployment Insurance to reprogram computer
systems so that the employer’s experience rating account may be issued a charge or non-charge in accordance with this
measure. In addition, LWC must update their website to provide disclosing information. The Legislative Fiscal Office
anticipates that LWC can implement this measure utilizing existing staff and resources.

Note: The proposed law brings LWC into conformity with the Federal Trade Adjustment Assistance Extension Act of 2011.
The LWC has been out of conformity since October 21, 2013, which is why this measure is retroactive.

REVENUE EXPLANATION

There is no anticipated aggregate effect on the Unemployment Insurance (UI) Trust Fund revenues as a result of this
measure.

Note: A non-charge may be granted to an employer if a employee voluntarily quits a base period employer without a good
work-related cause, was discharged from the base period employer for willful, work-related misconduct, or if the claimant is
still working part time for the base period employer. Non-charges that have been granted become part of the calculation of
the social charge rate that is shared among all employers. Presently, if no timely protest has been received from the
employer, the non-charge is denied.

Examples of when LWC grants a non-charge are below:

Example #1 - For a separating (last) employer, a non-charge is granted if the employee was previously disqualified; or the
employee has earned 10X his weekly benefit amount, and has subsequently separated from his last employer under
nondisqualifying conditions. The non-charge is granted on disqualifications from a quit, discharge, or refusal of suitable work
Example #2 - For a base period employer, a non-charge is granted if the employer timely protest; LWC has determined that
the employee quit without good cause, or was discharged; the employee has earned 10X his weekly benefit amount, and has
been separated from his last employer under nondisqualifying conditions.
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