Crowe SR No. 159

Creates the Lower Pearl River Basin Ecosystem Study Commission to study the conditions, needs, issues, and funding relative to the protection and preservation of the Lower Pearl River Basin and to recommend any action or legislation that the commission deems necessary or appropriate.

Provides that commission shall consist of 16 members as follows:

- (1) Two members of the Senate appointed by the president, or their designees, one of whom shall serve as chairperson.
- (2) Two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker or their designees.
- (3) The secretary of DNR, or his designee.
- (4) The secretary of DWF, or his designee.
- (5) The secretary of DEQ, or her designee.
- (6) The president of Washington Parish, or his designee.
- (7) The president of St. Tammany Parish, or his designee.
- (8) Four residents of St. Tammany Parish, appointed by the legislators representing that parish.
- (9) Three residents of Washington Parish, appointed by the legislators representing that parish.

Provides that if the commission make a report, it is to be made to the legislature no later than 60 days prior to the 2015 RS.

Provides that commission terminates on April 13, 2015.