## Johns

Creates a study committee to study and make recommendations to the legislature with respect to the implementation of the FDA Food Safety Modernization Act.

Provides that the study committee be composed of the following members:

- (1) The assistant secretary of the office of public health of DHH or his designee.
- (2) A representative from the sanitarian services division of the office of public health of the DHH appointed by the assistant secretary of the office of public health.
- (3) The commissioner of agriculture and forestry or his designee.
- (4) The president of the La. Restaurant Association or his designee.
- (5) The president of the La. Association of Business and Industry or his designee.
- (6) The executive director of the La. Retailers Association or her designee.
- (7) The president of the La. Oil Marketers and Convenience Store Association or his designee.
- (8) The president of the La. Public Health Institute or his designee.
- (9) One member representing the LSU Agricultural Center appointed by the vice president for agriculture.
- (10) One member representing the Southern University Agricultural Center appointed by the chancellor of the center.
- (11) One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker.
- (12) One member of the Senate appointed by the president.
- (13) One member appointed by the chairman of the House Committee on Health and Welfare.
- (14) One member appointed by the chairman of the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare.
- (15) The executive director of the La. Meat Processors Association or his designee.
- (16) One member representing the La. Farm Bureau Federation appointed by the federation president.
- (17) One member representing the La. Fruit and Vegetable Grower's Association appointed by the commissioner of agriculture and forestry.
- (18) One member representing the La. Pecan Growers' Association appointed by the commissioner of agriculture and forestry.
- (19) One member representing a La. farmers' market appointed by the commissioner of agriculture and forestry.

Provides that the members of the committee shall serve without compensation.

Provides that the assistant secretary of the office of public health or his designee and the commissioner of agriculture and forestry or his designee shall serve as co-chairs of the committee and shall convene the first meeting of the committee no later than September 1, 2014.

Provides that the DHH secretary and the commissioner of agriculture and forestry shall designate staff of their respective departments to assist the study committee in performing its duties.

Provides that the committee shall meet as necessary and shall report its findings to the legislature not later than January 30, 2015.

Provides that this Resolution shall be deemed to supercede HCR 168 of the 2014 RS.