SLS 15RS-266 ORIGINAL

2015 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 32

BY SENATOR CORTEZ

1

COMMENDATIONS. Commends posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty.

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

## 2 To commend posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died 3 or were slain in the line of duty. WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize law enforcement officers from the 4 5 Acadiana region who made the ultimate sacrifice in the valiant performance of their duties; 6 and WHEREAS, from the city police departments, the following officers died or were 8 slain in the line of duty: from the Henderson Police, Patrolman Julius Courville on August 9 26, 1978; from the Jennings Police, City Marshall Cameron Coffin on July 15, 1906, and 10 Patrolman Burton LeBlanc on February 5, 2000; from the New Iberia Police, Police Officer 11 II Chad Elkins on October 25, 2000, and Police Officer Warren Narcisse Jr. on February, 28, 1984; from the Opelousas Police, Lieutenant Joseph Richard Jr. on September 28, 2010, and 12 13 Assistant Warren Peggy Sylvester on April 14, 2013; from the Rayne Police, Marshal Americus Lyons on December 24, 1894; and from the Sunset Police, Police Officer 14 Theodore Devalcourt on February 25, 1932; and 15 16 WHEREAS, from the Louisiana State Police, the following officers died or were slain in the line of duty: Trooper James Brownfield on May 9, 1943, Trooper Donald 17 Cleveland on July 2, 1977, Trooper Jean Crescionne on April 20, 1982, Trooper Duane 18

1	Dalton on January 12, 2010, Patrolman Frank David Sr. on October 9, 1933, Lieutenant
2	Joseph Ferris on February 23, 1968, Trooper Ulis Floyd on February 24, 1952, Trooper
3	Huey Grace on October 30, 1968, Master Trooper Stephen Gray on May 29, 1995, Sergeant
4	George Johnston on November 17, 1997, Trooper William Kees on February 5, 1983,
5	Corporal John Kendall on August 9, 2011, Trooper Hung Le on June 30, 1998, Sergeant
6	Clarence Miller Jr. on December 4, 1975, Trooper Rudolph Miller on September 8, 1962,
7	Trooper Wilmer Moody on November 10, 1956, Patrolman Victor Mossy on May 13, 1936,
8	Trooper James Pollard on November 20, 1956, Trooper Damon Robichaux on July 21, 1982,
9	Sergeant Eli Smith on January 17, 1957, Trooper William Warrington on July 17, 1973,
10	Trooper Lamon Weaver on April 17, 1973, Officer Neill Yarborough Sr. on February 25,
11	1925, and Trooper Francis Zinna on March 24, 1958; and
12	WHEREAS, from the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries the following
13	officers died or were slain in the line of duty: Agent Kenneth Aycock on July 6, 1991, Agent
14	Ricky Dodge on January 21, 1992, Agent Frank Fagot Jr. on November 29, 1927, Captain
15	John Garlington on February 10, 2000, Senior Agent Leon Henderson Jr. on March 30, 1996,
16	Senior Agent Jim Matkin on March 2, 2005, and Sergeant Paul Stuckey on September 30,
17	2011; and
18	WHEREAS, from the Sheriff's Department, the following officers died or were slain
19	in the line of duty: from Acadia Parish, Deputy Lester Threats on October 18, 1988; from
20	Evangeline Parish, Deputy Maurice Brignac on June 1, 2005, Deputy Jeremy Carter on
21	December 19, 2008, and Deputy Charles Smith on April 16, 2003; from Jefferson Davis
22	Parish, Deputy James Phillips on May 30, 1999; from Lafayette Parish, Deputy Myra
23	Mouton on February 26, 2015, and Deputy Willie Stutes on July 10, 1927; from St. Landry
24	Parish, Deputy Carlos Papillion on January 28, 2014, and Deputy Marion Swords on July
25	17, 1916; from St. Martin Parish, Corporal James Courville on June 13, 2000; and from
26	Vermilion Parish, Deputy Allen Bares Jr. on June 23, 2014; and
27	WHEREAS, these law enforcement officers died nobly in the act of protecting their
28	fellow citizens from those individuals who do not comply with the laws passed to preserve
29	order and security; and
30	WHEREAS, the memories of these and all fallen officers will never be extinguished,

SLS 15RS-266 ORIGINAL SCR NO. 32

and their names will never be forgotten; and

SCR 32 Original

WHEREAS, these officers are saluted by all of their fellow citizens for how they lived, are applauded by their fellow citizens for their dedication to valor and integrity, and are owed by their fellow citizens a deep debt of appreciation for the vital part they played in protecting the Acadiana dream; and

WHEREAS, the people of Louisiana are honored to witness daily the professionalism, perseverance, and compassion of law enforcement officers, and these fallen officers from Acadiana remain models for all who strive to uphold the ideals of this great state and nation.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty and does hereby extend abiding and heartfelt gratitude for the tremendous pride that they will forever bring to Acadiana and to the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Henderson Police Department, the Jennings Police Department, the New Iberia Police Department, the Opelousas Police Department, the Rayne Police Department, the Sunset Police Department, the Louisiana State Police, the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, the Acadia Parish Sheriff's Department, the Evangeline Parish Sheriff's Department, the Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff's Department, the Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Department, the St. Landry Parish Sheriff's Department, the St. Martin Parish Sheriff's Department, and the Vermilion Parish Sheriff's Department.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Michelle Broussard-Johnson.

DIGEST 2015 Regular Session

Cortez

Commends posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty.