SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 32

BY SENATORS CORTEZ, ALLAIN, GUILLORY, LAFLEUR, MILLS, MORRISH AND PERRY AND REPRESENTATIVE STUART BISHOP

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty.

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who made the ultimate sacrifice in the valiant performance of their duties; and

WHEREAS, from the city police departments, the following officers died or were slain in the line of duty: from the Henderson Police, Patrolman Julius Courville on August 26, 1978; from the Jennings Police, City Marshall Cameron Coffin on July 15, 1906, and Patrolman Burton LeBlanc on February 5, 2000; from the New Iberia Police, Police Officer II Chad Elkins on October 25, 2000, and Police Officer Warren Narcisse Jr. on February, 28, 1984; from the Opelousas Police, Lieutenant Joseph Richard Jr. on September 28, 2010, and Assistant Warren Peggy Sylvester on April 14, 2013; from the Rayne Police, Marshal Americus Lyons on December 24, 1894; and from the Sunset Police, Police Officer Theodore Devalcourt on February 25, 1932; and

WHEREAS, from the Louisiana State Police, the following officers died or were slain in the line of duty: Trooper James Brownfield on May 9, 1943, Trooper Donald Cleveland on July 2, 1977, Trooper Jean Crescionne on April 20, 1982, Trooper Duane Dalton on January 12, 2010, Patrolman Frank David Sr. on October 9, 1933, Lieutenant Joseph Ferris on February 23, 1968, Trooper Ulis Floyd on February 24, 1952, Trooper Huey Grace on October 30, 1968, Master Trooper Stephen Gray on May 29, 1995, Sergeant George Johnston on November 17, 1997, Trooper William Kees on February 5, 1983, Corporal John Kendall on August 9, 2011, Trooper Hung Le on June 30, 1998, Sergeant Clarence Miller Jr. on December 4, 1975, Trooper Rudolph Miller on September 8, 1962, Trooper Wilmer Moody on November 10, 1956, Patrolman Victor Mossy on May 13, 1936, Trooper James Pollard on November 20, 1956, Trooper Damon Robichaux on July 21, 1982, Sergeant Eli Smith on January 17, 1957, Trooper William Warrington on July 17, 1973,

SCR NO. 32

Trooper Lamon Weaver on April 17, 1973, Officer Neill Yarborough Sr. on February 25, 1925, and Trooper Francis Zinna on March 24, 1958; and

WHEREAS, from the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries the following officers died or were slain in the line of duty: Agent Kenneth Aycock on July 6, 1991, Agent Ricky Dodge on January 21, 1992, Agent Frank Fagot Jr. on November 29, 1927, Captain John Garlington on February 10, 2000, Senior Agent Leon Henderson Jr. on March 30, 1996, Senior Agent Jim Matkin on March 2, 2005, and Sergeant Paul Stuckey on September 30, 2011; and

WHEREAS, from the Sheriff's Department, the following officers died or were slain in the line of duty: from Acadia Parish, Deputy Lester Threats on October 18, 1988; from Evangeline Parish, Deputy Maurice Brignac on June 1, 2005, Deputy Jeremy Carter on December 19, 2008, and Deputy Charles Smith on April 16, 2003; from Jefferson Davis Parish, Deputy James Phillips on May 30, 1999; from Lafayette Parish, Deputy Myra Mouton on February 26, 2015, and Deputy Willie Stutes on July 10, 1927; from St. Landry Parish, Deputy Carlos Papillion on January 28, 2014, and Deputy Marion Swords on July 17, 1916; from St. Martin Parish, Corporal James Courville on June 13, 2000; and from Vermilion Parish, Deputy Allen Bares Jr. on June 23, 2014; and

WHEREAS, these law enforcement officers died nobly in the act of protecting their fellow citizens from those individuals who do not comply with the laws passed to preserve order and security; and

WHEREAS, the memories of these and all fallen officers will never be extinguished, and their names will never be forgotten; and

WHEREAS, these officers are saluted by all of their fellow citizens for how they lived, are applauded by their fellow citizens for their dedication to valor and integrity, and are owed by their fellow citizens a deep debt of appreciation for the vital part they played in protecting the Acadiana dream; and

WHEREAS, the people of Louisiana are honored to witness daily the professionalism, perseverance, and compassion of law enforcement officers, and these fallen officers from Acadiana remain models for all who strive to uphold the ideals of this great state and nation.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty and does hereby extend abiding and heartfelt gratitude for the tremendous pride that they will forever bring to Acadiana and to the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Henderson Police Department, the Jennings Police Department, the New Iberia Police Department, the Opelousas Police Department, the Rayne Police Department, the Sunset Police Department, the Louisiana State Police, the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, the Acadia Parish Sheriff's Department, the Evangeline Parish Sheriff's Department, the Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff's Department, the Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Department, the St. Landry Parish Sheriff's Department, the St. Martin Parish Sheriff's Department, and the Vermilion Parish Sheriff's Department.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES