SLS 15RS-1724 ORIGINAL

2015 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 98

BY SENATORS CORTEZ, ALLAIN, GUILLORY, LAFLEUR, MILLS, MORRISH AND PERRY AND REPRESENTATIVE STUART BISHOP

COMMENDATIONS. Commends posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died
3	or were slain in the line of duty.
4	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize these law enforcement officers from the
5	Acadiana region who made the ultimate sacrifice in the valiant performance of their duties;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, from the Abbeville Police Department, Officer John Hardy died in the
8	line of duty on December 22, 1992; and
9	WHEREAS, from the Acadia Parish Sheriff's Department, Deputy Lester Threats
10	died in the line of duty on October 18, 1988; and
11	WHEREAS, from the Crowley Police Department, the following officers died or
12	were slain in the line of duty: Officer Ezra Foreman on May 4, 1959, Officer Anthony Suire
13	on September 6, 1962, and Lieutenant Richard Newman on February 19, 1993; and
14	WHEREAS, from the Evangeline Parish Sheriff's Department, the following officers
15	died or were slain in the line of duty: Deputy Charles Smith on April 16, 2003, Deputy
16	Maurice Brignac on June 1, 2005, and Deputy Jeremy Carter on December 19, 2008; and
17	WHEREAS, from the Henderson Police Department, Patrolman Julius Courville died
18	in the line of duty on August 26, 1978; and

1 WHEREAS, from the Jefferson Davis Sheriff's Department, Deputy James Phillips died in the line of duty on May 30, 1999; and 2 3 WHEREAS, from the Jennings Police Department, the following officers died or 4 were slain in the line of duty: City Marshall Cameron Coffin on July 15, 1906, and Patrolman Burton LeBlanc on February 5, 2000; and 5 6 WHEREAS, from the Kaplan Police Department, Officer Rodney Trahan died in the 7 line of duty on April 4, 1969; and 8 WHEREAS, from the Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Department, the following officers 9 died or were slain in the line of duty: Deputy Willie Stutes on July 10, 1927, and Deputy 10 Myra Mouton on February 26, 2015; and 11 WHEREAS, from the Lafayette Police Department, the following officers died or were slain in the line of duty: Officer Simon Chaisson on July 11, 1926, Captain Harold 12 Abadie on May 20, 1959, Detective Sergeant Leroy King on May 20, 1959, Captain John 13 14 "Rocky" Langlinais on July 22, 1960, and Police Officer First Class Edward Burch on January 5, 1969; and 15 16 WHEREAS, from the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries the following officers died or were slain in the line of duty: Agent Frank Fagot Jr., on November 29, 1927, Agent 17 18 Kenneth Aycock on July 6, 1991, Agent Ricky Dodge on January 21, 1992, Senior Agent 19 Leon Henderson Jr. on March 20, 1996, Captain John Garlington on February 10, 2000, Senior Agent Jim Matkin on March 2, 2005, and Sergeant Paul Stuckey on September 30, 20 21 2011; and WHEREAS, from the Louisiana State Police, the following officers died or were 22 23 slain in the line of duty: Officer Neill Yarborough Sr. on February 25, 1925, Highway 24 Patrolman Frank David Sr. on October 9, 1933, Patrolman Victor Mossy on May 13, 1936, Trooper James Brownfield on May 9, 1943, Trooper Ulis Floyd on February 24, 1952, 25 Trooper Wilmer Moody on November 10, 1956, Trooper James Pollard on November 20, 26 27 1956, Sergeant Eli Smith on January 17, 1957, Trooper Francis Zinna on March 24, 1958, Trooper Rudolph Miller on September 8, 1962, Lieutenant Joseph D. Ferris on February 23, 28 1968, Trooper Huey Grace on October 30, 1968, Trooper William Warrington on July 17, 29

1973, Trooper Lamon Weaver on April 17, 1973, Sergeant Clarence Miller Jr. on December

30

1	4, 1975, Trooper First Class Donald Cleveland Sr. on July 2, 1977, Trooper Jean-Claude
2	Crescionne on April 20, 1982, Trooper Damon Robichaux on July 21, 1982, Trooper
3	William Kees on February 5, 1983, Master Trooper Stephen Gray on May 29, 1995,
4	Sergeant George Johnston on November 17, 1997, Trooper Hung Le on June 30, 1998,
5	Trooper Duane Dalton on January 12, 2010, and Corporal John Kendall on August 9, 2011;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, from the New Iberia Police Department, the following officers died or
8	were slain in the line of duty: Officer Warren Narcisse Jr. on February 28, 1984, and Officer
9	Chad Elkins on October 25, 2000; and
10	WHEREAS, from the Opelousas Police Department, the following officers died or
11	were slain in the line of duty: Lieutenant Joseph Richard Jr. on September 28, 2010, and
12	Assistant Warren Peggy Sylvester on April 14, 2013; and
13	WHEREAS, from the Port Barre Police Department, Police Chief David Richard
14	died in the line of duty on August 5, 2007; and
15	WHEREAS, from the Rayne Police Department, Marshal Americus Lyons died in
16	the line of duty on December 24, 1894; and
17	WHEREAS, from the St. Landry Parish Sheriff's Department, the following officers
18	died in the line of duty: Deputy Marion Swords on July 17, 1916, and Deputy Carlos
19	Papillion on January 28, 2014; and
20	WHEREAS, from the St. Martin Parish Sheriff's Department, Corporal James
21	Courville died in the line of duty on June 13, 2000; and
22	WHEREAS, from the St. Mary Parish Sheriff's Department, Detective John Kahl
23	died in the line of duty on June 4, 1980; and
24	WHEREAS, from the Sunset Police Department, Officer Theodore Devalcourt died
25	in the line of duty on February 25, 1932; and
26	WHEREAS, from the Vermilion Parish Sheriff's Department, Deputy Allen Bares
27	Jr. died in the line of duty on June 23, 2014; and
28	WHEREAS, these law enforcement officers died nobly in the act of protecting their
29	fellow citizens, preserving order in our society; they are to be saluted for how they lived, and
30	applauded for their dedication to valor and integrity; and

SLS 15RS-1724 ORIGINAL
SCR NO. 98

WHEREAS, the people of Louisiana owe these fallen officers a deep debt of appreciation; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

SCR 98 Original

WHEREAS, these officers are to be honored by acknowledging their professionalism, perseverance, and compassion, and will forever be held as models for all who strive to uphold the ideals of this great state and nation.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Abbeville Police Department, the Acadia Parish Sheriff's Department, the Crowley Police Department, the Evangeline Parish Sheriff's Department, the Henderson Police Department, the Jefferson Davis Sheriff's Department, the Jennings Police Department, the Kaplan Police Department, the Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Department, the Lafayette Police Department, the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, the Louisiana State Police, the New Iberia Police Department, the Opelousas Police Department, the Port Barre Police Department, the Rayne Police Department, the St. Landry Parish Sheriff's Department, the St. Martin Parish Sheriff's Department, and the Vermilion Parish Sheriff's Department.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Michelle Broussard-Johnson.

DIGEST 2015 Regular Session

Cortez

Commends posthumously law enforcement officers from the Acadiana region who died or were slain in the line of duty.