BY SENATOR LONG AND REPRESENTATIVE HOWARD

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Florien High School Lady Blackcats softball team for winning its third consecutive state championship.

WHEREAS, the Florien High School Lady Blackcats softball team completed extraordinary seasons when it earned back-to-back Class B state championships in 2013 and 2014; and

WHEREAS, in the 2015 season, the second seeded Lady Blackcats, were led by the golden left arm of junior pitcher Abbey McMillian, the two-time Class B Player of the year; and

WHEREAS, the infield lineup of the Lady Blackcats provided a unified front with Caitlyn Corley, Kaitlin Davis, Ryleigh Rutherford, and Bailey McCleary, while Caroline Matthews and Meghan Burkett provided a solid, anchored outfield; and

WHEREAS, freshman Haylee Tidwill moved into the catcher's role after the lone senior Adrianna Phillips was injured, and responded by throwing out fifteen of seventeen runners; and

WHEREAS, the 2015 Class B state championship 4-0 win for the Lady Blackcats came against the Quitman High School Wolverines; and

WHEREAS, the Florien head coach, Bruce Stewart, said the win was extremely demanding for the players, and their hard work really paid off; and

WHEREAS, Lady Blackcats team member Caitlyn Corley, Class B's Most Outstanding Player, said the win was both relieving and rewarding due to the pressure on the team in the championship round; and

WHEREAS, extraordinary fan support proved to be invaluable to the Lady Blackcats championship win, with more than four hundred in attendance; and

SCR NO. 97 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the members and staff of the Florien High School Lady Blackcat

softball team performed at the highest level of excellence throughout the playoffs; each of

the Florien High School Lady Blackcats deserve recognition for their valiant efforts: senior

Adrianna Phillips; juniors Abbey McMillian, Caroline Matthews, Kaitlin Davis,

Bailey McCleary, and Caitlyn Corley; sophomores Whitney Byles and Meghan Burkett;

freshmen Sydney Anthony, Ryleigh Rutherford, and Haylee Tidwell; eighth graders

Annalise Sylvia and Makayla Jordan; and seventh graders Gracie Sylvia, Makenzie Alford,

Delana Johnson, and Elizabeth Richwine; and

WHEREAS, head coach Bruce Stewart, assistant coaches Clay Corley,

Kelvin Matthews, and Chris Tidwell; managers Gracie Rutherford and Macy Corley;

Florien High School principal Eddie Jones and assistant principal Scott Manuel; and the

entire Florien High School staff have instilled an ethic of winning and motivational skills

needed to produce winners, both on and off the field.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

commend the Florien High School Lady Blackcats softball team for winning its third

consecutive state championship; to commend the team for the tireless ability displayed; to

express sincere congratulations to the team members and to the coaching staff, and the

sportsmanship shown while achieving consecutive championship titles.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the

Florien High School principal and Florien High School Lady Blackcats softball head coach.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2