## **ACT No. 433**

HOUSE BILL NO. 823

1

## BY REPRESENTATIVES BARROW AND JAMES

2	To amend and reenact R.S. 33:2740.67(A), (B), and (C)(1), (2), and (3), relative to the
3	Greenwell Springs-Airline Economic Development District in East Baton Rouge
4	Parish; to change the name and the boundaries of the district; to provide for the
5	membership of the board; and to provide for related matters.
6	Notice of intention to introduce this Act has been published
7	as provided by Article III, Section 13 of the Constitution of
8	Louisiana.
9	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
10	Section 1. R.S. 33:2740.67(A), (B), and (C)(1), (2), and (3) are hereby amended and
11	reenacted to read as follows:
12	§2740.67. Greenwell Springs-Airline Baton Rouge North Economic Development
13	District
14	A. Creation. The Greenwell Springs-Airline Baton Rouge North Economic
15	Development District, referred to in this Section as the "district", is hereby created
16	in the parish of East Baton Rouge. The district shall be a political subdivision of the
17	state created for the purpose of developing the area included within the district in
18	order to provide for substantial economic activity and employment opportunities.
19	B. Boundaries. The district shall include the area within the following
20	boundaries: beginning at the intersection of South Choctaw Drive and Scenic
21	Highway, north along Scenic Highway to its intersection with Harding Boulevard,
22	then east along Harding Boulevard to its intersection with Plank Road and Hooper
23	Road, continue east along Hooper Road to its intersection with Mickens Road, then
24	southeast along Mickens Road to its intersection with Joor Road, then south on Joor

AN ACT

HB NO. 823 ENROLLED

Road to its intersection with Greenwell Springs Road, then northeast on Greenwell Springs Road to its intersection with North Flannery Road, then south on North Flannery Road to its intersection with South Choctaw Drive, then west along South Choctaw Drive to the point of beginning North 22nd Street and Florida Boulevard, east along Florida Boulevard to its intersection with North Sherwood Forest Drive, then north along North Sherwood Forest Drive to its intersection with Greenwell Springs Road, then southwest along Greenwell Springs Road to its intersection with Joor Road, then north along Joor Road to its intersection with Mickens Road, then west along Mickens Road to its intersection with Hooper Road, then west along Hooper Road to its intersection with Harding Boulevard, continuing west along Harding Boulevard to its intersection with Scenic Highway, then south along Scenic Highway to its intersection with Main Street, then east along Main Street to its intersection with North 22nd Street, then south along North 22nd Street to the point of beginning.

C. Governance. (1) In order to provide for the orderly planning, development, acquisition, construction, and effectuation of the services, improvements, and facilities to be furnished by the district and to provide for the representation in the affairs of the district of those persons and interests immediately concerned with and affected by the purposes and development of the district, the district shall be managed by a nine-member thirteen-member board of commissioners, referred to in this Section as the "board". The board shall be comprised of members as follows:

- (a) Two members shall be appointed by the state representative for House District No. 29, one of whom shall be a representative of the business community.
- (b) Two members shall be appointed by the state senator for Senate District No. 15.
- (c) One member shall be appointed by the mayor-president of the parish of East Baton Rouge.

HB NO. 823 ENROLLED

1	(d) One member shall be appointed by the member or members of the
2	governing authority of the parish of East Baton Rouge who represent the district.
3	(e) One member shall be appointed by the owner of the largest parcel of land
4	located within the district.
5	(f) One member shall be appointed by the state representative for House
6	District No. 61.
7	(g) One member shall be appointed by the state representative for House
8	District No. 67.
9	(h) One member shall be appointed by the state representative for House
10	District No. 101.
11	(i) One member shall be appointed by the state senator for Senate District
12	<u>No. 14.</u>
13	(f) (j) The branch manager of a bank located within the district to be selected
14	by a subcommittee formed by the board.
15	(g) (k) One representative of a civic association located within the district
16	to be selected by a subcommittee formed by the board.
17	(2)(a)(i) Members serving pursuant to Subparagraphs (1)(a) through (e) (i)
18	of this Subsection shall serve four-year terms after initial terms as provided by Item
19	(ii) of this Subparagraph.
20	(ii) Two Three members shall serve an initial term of one year; two three
21	shall serve two years; two three shall serve three years; and one two shall serve four
22	years, as determined by lot at the first meeting of the board.
23	(b) Members serving pursuant to Subparagraphs $\frac{(1)(f)}{(1)(g)}$ and $\frac{(k)}{(1)(g)}$
24	of this Subsection shall serve at the pleasure of the subcommittee formed by the
25	board.
26	(3)(a) The terms of appointed members serving on the board on June 29,
27	2010, shall terminate on June 29, 2010.
28	(b) The president of the Monticello Civic Association, the president of the
29	Park Forest Civic Association, the branch manager of Liberty Bank and Trust
30	Company, and any of their designees, shall not continue to serve on and after June

1 29, 2010. However, any such president or branch manager shall be eligible to be 2 selected to serve on the board pursuant to Subparagraphs (1)(f) and (g) of this 3 Subsection. Board members shall be eligible for reappointment. 4 Section 2. The terms of all members of the board of commissioners of the Greenwell 5 6 Springs-Airline Economic Development District serving on the effective date of this Act 7 shall terminate on the effective date of this Act; however, such members shall remain in 8 office until the board members are appointed as provided in this Act and take office. The 9 members of the board of commissioners of the Greenwell Springs-Airline Economic 10 Development District shall be appointed and shall take office as provided in this Act and 11 shall serve terms of office as provided in this Act. SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

**ENROLLED** 

HB NO. 823

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_