RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 68 (HB 327)

2015 Regular Session

Existing law provides that the governor shall appoint, subject to Senate confirmation, nine persons from Lafourche Parish to serve as commissioners of the North Lafourche Conservation, Levee and Drainage District.

Existing law provides that the governor shall select these nine persons to serve as commissioners from names submitted by the following:

- (1) Each of the six state legislators representing any part of the district shall submit nominations, and the governor shall appoint one member from each such list of nominees.
- (2) One member from three names submitted by the president of Lafourche Parish, subject to ratification by the governing authority of Lafourche Parish.
- (3) One member from three names submitted by the mayor of Thibodeaux, subject to ratification by the governing authority of Thibodeaux.
- (4) One member from three names submitted by the mayor of Lockport, subject to ratification by the governing authority of Lockport.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>existing law</u>, but removes references to the total number of commissioners (nine) and the number (six) of state legislators representing the district. This change would allow for the current eight state legislators representing the district to submit nominations to the governor. In addition, this would allow for the total number of commissioners to change, without legislation, due to any changes made due to future redistricting legislation.

<u>Prior law</u> provides that the term of any commissioner shall cease in January 2008, or thereafter, when his successor is appointed and takes office.

<u>New law</u> provides that the term of any commissioner shall cease when his successor is appointed and takes office.

<u>Prior law</u> required that the membership of the board of commissioners of the North Lafourche Conservation, Levee and Drainage District be comprised of no fewer than three members from the area within the district lying to the east of Bayou Lafourche, no fewer than three members from the area within the district lying to the west of Bayou Lafourche, and the remaining members from the district-at-large, appointed pursuant to the list of nominations submitted to the governor by the nominating parties.

<u>New law</u> removes <u>prior law</u>.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that if nine commissioners are not appointed within 60 days of the beginning of the term or a vacancy, another list of nominations selected by a majority of the members of the legislature representing the district shall be submitted, from which the governor appointed the remaining required commissioners to bring the total number to nine.

<u>New law</u> replaces reference to "nine" commissioners with the word "all". This change would allow for the current eight state legislators representing the district to submit nominations to the governor. In addition, this would allow for the total number of commissioners to change, without legislation, due to any changes made due to future redistricting legislation.

<u>New law</u> provides that, excluding any vacancies on the board, a majority of the appointed commissioners shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business of the commission.

<u>New law</u> removes references to obsolete dates.

<u>New law</u> shall be effective Jan. 10, 2016 (the date the next governor is scheduled to take office).

(Amends R.S. 38:291(T)(2)(a)(intro. para.) and (i), (b) and (c), and (4); Adds R.S. 38:291(T)(2)(d))