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HOUSE SUMMARY OF SENATE AMENDMENTS

HB 924 2016 Regular Session Coussan

MTR VEHICLE/LICEN PLATES:  Creates the "Louisiana The Energy State" prestige
license plate

Synopsis of Senate Amendments

1. Makes technical changes.

2. Directs the secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections to establish
a special prestige license plate for Louisiana members of congress, which may
be issued upon application of any Louisiana member of congress.

3. Restricts use of the license plate to passenger cars, pickup trucks, motorcycles,
recreational vehicles, and vans.

4. Provides for a one-time fee of $25 for each plate.

5. Provides for a handing fee of $3.50 for each plate, to be retained by the dept. to
offset a portion of administrative costs.

6. Requires the secretary to promulgate rules and regulations necessary to
implement the provisions of proposed law, govern the transfer and disposition
of the license plates upon the death of the recipient, and govern the design of
the plate.

Digest of Bill as Finally Passed by Senate

Proposed law requires the secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections to issue
special prestige license plates to be known as the "Louisiana The Energy State" license plate.

Proposed law restricts use of the "Louisiana The Energy State" license plate to passenger
cars, pickup trucks, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, and vans.

Proposed law authorizes the secretary to work in conjunction with the Louisiana Oil and Gas
Association to select the color and design of the plate.

Proposed law specifies that the license plate be issued, upon application, to any citizen of
Louisiana in the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plate.

Proposed law requires the department to collect an annual royalty fee of $25 for each plate
issued and specifies that such fees be collected by the department and forwarded to the
treasurer for deposit into the Oilfield Site Restoration Fund.

Proposed law requires the department to collect a handling fee of $3.50 for each plate, to be
retained by the department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

Proposed law requires the secretary to adopt rules and regulations to implement the
provisions provided in proposed law.

Proposed law requires the secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections to issue,
upon application, special prestige license plates to any Louisiana member of congress.

Proposed law restricts use of the special prestige license plate to passenger cars, pickup
trucks, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, and vans.
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Proposed law provides for a one-time fee of $25 for each plate.

Proposed law provides for a handling fee of $3.50 for each plate, to be retained by the dept.
to offset a portion of administrative costs.

Proposed law requires the secretary to promulgate rules and regulations necessary to
implement the provision of proposed law, including rules and regulations governing the
transfer and disposition of the license plates upon the death of the recipient and the design
of the plate.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.188 and R.S. 463.189)
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