RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 479 (SB 268)

2016 Regular Session

Morrell

<u>New law</u> requires a new resident of Louisiana to apply for a certificate of registration for each motor vehicle he owns and operates on the public streets and roadways in Louisiana within 30 days of the date he establishes residency in Louisiana.

<u>New law</u> requires any motor vehicle owned and operated by a new resident of Louisiana on the public streets and roadways in Louisiana to bear a valid safety inspection certificate within 30 days of the date he establishes residency in Louisiana.

<u>New law</u> provides that a person is considered to have established residency in the state on the date he is issued a Louisiana driver's license.

Effective August 1, 2016.

(Adds R.S. 47:513.2)