RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 671 (HB 886)

2016 Regular Session

Gaines

<u>Existing law</u> provides that the Port of South La. Commission be governed by a board of commissioners.

<u>New law</u> increases the membership on the board <u>from</u> seven <u>to</u> nine by adding two additional members appointed by the governor at his sole discretion.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that a member appointed by the governor from nominations from each parish located within the territorial jurisdiction of the port could be a resident of such parish or the chief executive officer of a business which was principally operated within each parish.

New law requires that such a member be a resident of such parish.

<u>Prior law</u> required that one member at-large, appointed by the governor, reside and be domiciled within the geographical boundaries of the port, and be selected on the basis of his demonstrated experience in civic leadership and his ability and experience to act effectively for the best interest of the port and the state of Louisiana.

<u>New law</u> provides that the governor, at his sole discretion, shall appoint three members, one of whom is a resident of St. Charles Parish, one of whom is a resident of St. John the Baptist Parish, and one of whom is a resident of St. James Parish.

<u>New law</u> specifies that in making appointments to the commission, the governor shall appoint members in a manner that ensures that three members are residents of each of the parishes of St. Charles, St. John the Baptist, or St. James.

Effective August 1, 2016.

(Amends R.S. 34:2471(A)(intro. para.), (3), (4), (5), and (6))