
RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 156 (HB 1003) 2016 Regular Session Zeringue

New law requires the secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections (department)
to establish a special prestige license plate to be known as the "K9s4COPS" license plate.

New law requires for the secretary to work in conjunction with the executive director of
K9s4COPS to select the color and design of the plate.

New law specifies that the license plate be issued, upon application, to any citizen of
Louisiana in the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plate.

New law requires the department to collect an annual royalty fee of $25 for each plate issued
and specifies that such fees be collected by the department and forwarded to K9s4COPS.
Specifies that the monies received from the royalty fees shall be used to place fully trained
canines in law enforcement agencies and schools in the state of Louisiana.

New law requires the department to collect a handling fee of $3.50 for each plate, to be
retained by the department to offset a portion of the administrative costs.

New law requires the secretary to adopt rules and regulations to implement the provisions
provided in new law.

Effective August 1, 2016.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.188)


