RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 594 (HB 853)

2016 Regular Session

Robert Johnson

Existing law creates the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission.

New law retains existing law.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission is composed of seven members who were required to serve without compensation and were appointed as follows:

- (1) Four commissioners appointed by the governing authority of the parish of Avoyelles.
- (2) Two commissioners appointed by the governing authority of the town of Simmesport.
- (3) One commissioner elected by the appointed commissioners at their initial meeting.

Prior law provided that commissioners are appointed for terms of two, four, or six years.

<u>New law</u> removes <u>prior law</u> and instead provides that the commission would be composed of nine members who shall serve without compensation and who would be appointed, subject to Senate confirmation.

<u>New law</u> requires each member of the police jury of Avoyelles Parish to submit a list of three nominees from his respective district to the representative representing House District No. 28, the senator representing Senate District No. 28, and the senator representing Senate District No. 32. Each nominee is required to meet domiciliary requirements.

<u>New law</u> requires that together the representative representing House District No. 28, the senator representing Senate District No. 28, and the senator representing Senate District No. 32 would appoint one nominee from each list of nominees submitted to serve as commissioners.

<u>New law</u> requires that the initial commissioners appointed following the effective date of <u>new law</u> would serve until Jan. 12, 2020. Thereafter, any commissioner appointed would serve a term of four years.

<u>New law</u> requires the mayor of Simmesport or his designee, who must be a member of the board of aldermen of the town of Simmesport, to be an ex-officio nonvoting member of the commission.

<u>New law</u> prohibits any person who holds an elective public office of any kind from being appointed or serving as a member of the commission and specifies that any member of the commission who is elected to such office, during his term in office, is deemed to have resigned from the commission by virtue of being elected to public office, except as provided in <u>new law</u>.

Effective upon signature of governor (June 17, 2016).

(Amends R.S. 34:1801)