## DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 563 Original	2017 Regular Session	Jones
TID 505 Ofiginal	2017 Regular Session	Jones

**Abstract:** Establishes an alternative minimum tax for purposes of taxation based upon certain corporations' economic activity in La.

Present law imposes a tax upon corporation income as follows:

- (1) 4% on the first \$25,000 of net income.
- (2) 5% on net income above \$25,000 but less than \$50,000.
- (3) 6% on net income above \$50,000 but less than \$100,000.
- (4) 7% on net income above \$100,000 but less than \$200,000.
- (5) 8% on all net income in excess of \$200,000.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and establishes a new tax, the alternative minimum tax, for purposes of a minimum level of taxation upon the economic activity in La. of certain corporations and other entities which are treated and taxed as part of a unitary business or combined group for federal income tax purposes. Each such corporation is subject to the state corporation income tax under <u>present law</u>, and shall pay the greater of the corporation income tax or the alternative minimum tax imposed under <u>proposed law</u>.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides definitions including those for "corporation", "La. business activity", and "unitary business.

Proposed law defines "La. business activity" as follows:

(1) Fifty percent of the sum of:

(a) The taxpayer's total amount of taxable capital attributable to Louisiana as determined for purposes of state corporation franchise tax.

(b) The taxpayer's Louisiana net income pursuant to R.S. 47:287.91 less any amount paid in corporation franchise tax within taxable period.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that the rate of the tax shall be computed as follows:

- (1) No tax upon the first \$100,000 of La. economic activity.
- (2) 0.75% upon La. economic activity in excess of \$100,000 but less than \$500,000.
- (3) 1.5% upon all La. economic activity in excess of \$500,000.

Applicable for taxable periods beginning on and after January 1, 2018.

(Adds R.S. 47:289.1 and 289.2)