2017 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 21

BY REPRESENTATIVES COUSSAN AND BISHOP

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team upon winning the 2016 Division II state championship.

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team upon winning the 2016 Division II football state championship; and

WHEREAS, the Cougars of the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team have completed a sensational season, earning the title of 2016 Division II state champions after defeating the Parkview Baptist School Eagles by a score of fifty-four to twenty-nine at the exciting championship game on Friday, December 2, 2016, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans; and

WHEREAS, this thrilling victory marked the Cougars' first football state championship in the school's history and the culmination of a truly unforgettable season; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence throughout the 2016 season and playoffs, and each of these talented Cougars deserves recognition for his vital contributions to the winning effort: Mason Pesson, Gabe LeBeouf, Gregory Mahtook, Matthew Lagrange, William Cryer, Jacque Lebas, Jude Joseph, Chris Primeaux, Truitt Chenevert, Alex Hannie, Dalen Cambre, Nate Cox, Tanner Raphael, Blake St. Cyr, Drew McDaniel, Peyton Landry, Joel Moreau, Hadden Aranza, Sam Boutte, Peyton Lege, Sydney Lindon, Exan Dominique, Caleb Clark, Connor Latiolais, Jack O'Neal, Mack Moncla, Sam Horton, John Henry Helmer, Gabe Pontiff, Hunter Hall, Michael Patin, Andrew Sonnier, Andrew Bayard, Luke LeBlanc, Hunter Duhon, C.J. Hill, Cade Broussard, Try Clark, Grant Arceneaux, Jean-Luc LeBlanc, Bennett Krampe, John King, Chase Taylor, David Starkovich, Brennan Langlinais, Caden Foreman, Trevor Robertson, Christopher

HCR NO. 21 ENROLLED

Krause, Jerry Wimberly, Paul Laborde, Joseph Bryson, Quinn Viator, Conner Denais, Ben Thibodeaux, Jake Breaux, Connor Duffy, Hunter Bergeron, Noah Fontenot, Jacob Barras, Cameron Ramon, Brady Hyde, Elliot Rountree, Henry Koke, Thomas Deloach, Mikey Signorelli, Bryce Louviere, Kade Simar, Zack Crain, Nicholas Cuccia, Zach Favaloro, Jacob Stirling, Jonathan Harding, Andrew Mouton, Ryan Killeen, Ross Gaspard, William Blanchet, Spencer Trepagnier, Brayden Steckler, Max Jumonville, Aiden Babineaux, Luke Harris, Beau Hughes, Grant Young, Landon Burton, Griffin Hebert, Carter Dooley, Cole Lambert, John Robertson, Matthew Gauthreaux, Griffin Thibeaux, Jonathon Thibodeaux, Ben Moody, Thomas Morton, Burke Matthews, Tristian Steckler, Brennan Romero, Brandon Gannon, Peyton Wilson, Matthew Montesano, Sam Greenwood, Alex Lamb, and Hunter Clay; and

WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the unwavering dedication and inspiring guidance of head coach, Jim Hightower, and others on the coaching staff, Terry Tidwell, David Leblanc, Corey Arceneaux, Shane Savoie, Lance Strother, Broc Prejean, Martin Cannon, Jonathan Pry, Nick Cortese, and Jacob Rodrigue, as well as the passion of the many Cougars' supporters who contribute to the success of the school's football program; and

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding 2016 season commences a glorious tradition for the Cougars, and all alumni and fans recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy that the team brings to St. Thomas More Catholic High School, Lafayette Parish, and the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team upon winning the 2016 Division II state championship; does hereby record for posterity this exceptional team's triumph in the great sport of football; and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine football program as they celebrate their championship season and prepare for continued success in the future.

HCR NO. 21 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Jim Hightower.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE