SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 63

BY SENATOR BOUDREAUX

A RESOLUTION

To recognize and commend the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation and its board members.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation, through its 501-c(3) nonprofit status, was created in 1977 and initially existed to serve as the business vehicle for operations related to the annual Hall of Fame induction ceremonies each summer, operated by the parent organization, the Louisiana Sports Writers Association which was envisioned to develop into the basis of support operations for the Hall of Fame museum project once that endeavor became reality; and

WHEREAS, in 2003, the museum project launched with a partnership forged at a March 30th meeting between the Foundation, the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, the Louisiana State Museum system, and Northwestern State University, which was formally approved in the 2003 state legislative session; and

WHEREAS, this partnership led to the development of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Northwest Louisiana History Museum on historic Front Street in Natchitoches; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame opened its doors in 2013 in a new, state-of-the-art facility making readily accessible the accomplishments and athletic feats of the state's greatest athletes who represent the highest ideals of dedication, determination, and perseverance, which qualities are worthy of admiration, and so the lives and accomplishments of the athletes themselves may serve as a guiding influence for future generations; and

SR NO. 63 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame 2017 Induction Class competitors include jockey Calvin Borel, LSU gymnastics coach D-D Breaux, Southeastern Louisiana University basketball player C. A. Core, former college coach and athletic director Raymond Didier, LSU football and track star and NFL player Eddie Kennison, basketball and baseball standout and major league player Juan Pierre, NFL football player Ed Reed, and LSU and professional golfer David Toms; and

WHEREAS, the Foundation began employing executive directors in 2008; in 2011, the first Foundation board was seated with fifteen members; and the board gradually expanded to its current twenty-five members over the next three years; and

WHEREAS, recently, under the leadership of board president Brian Cheramie, the Foundation went through a national search and identified Baton Rouge businessman Ronnie Rantz to become the new CEO/President of the Foundation, and he has been in place since September 2016; and

WHEREAS, the 2016-17 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation board members include Brian Cheramie, Sharon Gahagan vice president, Joe Tuminello treasurer, Waynette Ballengee secretary, Ronnie Rantz, Doug Ireland Hall of Fame chairman, Senator Gerald Boudreaux, Dustin Cross, Frank Douglas, Charles Herold, Barbara Gresham Hammerman, Paul Letlow, Ted Lewis, Kent Lowe, Tristan Manthey, Dr. L.J. Mayeux, Malcolm Myer, Greg O'Quin, Lyn Rollins, Tag Rome, Gordy Rush, Bart Schmolke, Ben Taylor, Doug Tatum, Lenny Vangilder, and Buddy Wood; and

WHEREAS, Foundation board members serve on a volunteer basis and attend four quarterly meetings annually, held at rotating locations around the state.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize and commend the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation and its board members.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Ronnie Rantz.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE